BEAUTIFUL BOOKS 2016: Let’s talk about NaNo

​I haven’t done a post in a while and I’ve decided I’m going to get my life back on track when it comes to the book world. Let’s go. I’m going to use Cait’s Beautiful Books 2016 for NANO. I’m doing NaNo this year actually but I didn’t have the motivation to work on an actual book as I’m still waiting on feedback regarding my first one. I’m writing poetry because I can do that and I love it and it’s still telling a story. It’s just telling mine. Okay, so the link is here: http://paperfury.com/beautiful-books-2016/
What inspired the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?
Actually, I’ve been recently into Rupi Kaur. It was an accident, really. I was looking up quotes when deciding what to use for the little gift tag on my friend’s birthday present that I was purchasing in gift wrapping from Amazon. (Highly recommend by the way, the wrapping was beautiful, and it’s totally worth the extra money.) I ended up ordering her poetry collection, Milk and Honey, and read the entire thing in a day and I’ve watched a Ted talk and a bunch of other videos regarding Rupi and I guess that empowered me to feel like I can do my own collection for NaNo although it will never be published and I will never, like ever, submit it for publication. So in summary, since late October and Rupi Kaur. 
Describe what your novel is about!
Okay! So, it’s a poetry collection that’s been taking place over a matter of months now and it’s basically about love and human beings. I know that probably sounds vague to you. I mean that it’s more about specific people that I’ve cared about or that I do care about in a variety of ways as well as how I tend to view humans which is sort of like, I’ll view them as complex universes or art? I do view them as real but in a way that’s less concrete, less set in stone and more vast and beautiful and in a way that makes it easy for me to become enamoured with someone. Art is generally my way of making sense of situations and the world so it only makes sense that that is how I would make sense of people too.

  It’s composed of various letters to people and sort of delving into a friendship I have with someone and us going back to days as children that we’ve never had, being happier, our struggles, exploring the complexities of that person, etc etc. 

 

What is your book’s aesthetic? Use words or photos or whatever you like!
I’ll actually find some pictures for you that aren’t Pinterest but that I actually made or took except the first one. Hold on. 

Introduce us to each of your characters!
Okay. So let’s introduce you to me. 

In this novel/collection type thing, I’m someone telling a story by travelling to different places in time. Some are in the present, that day, some in the past, and some in worlds that aren’t real or in alternate universes. The universes could be that person’s mind or my own. I’ll be a child, I’ll be older at a book signing, I’ll be on tightropes with a person. I’ll be swimming in water that’s not really water but sort of littered in stars and that I can kind of breathe in and the person too. I’ll be looking up at someone suspended into the air. I’m everywhere and I never know where I’ll be next and that’s the beauty of it because isn’t that what real life is?
There’s a boy who doesn’t really believe in himself, we see him travel through pieces and places of time but only at the very beginning because that’s where he’s most relevant. He sort of sifts through a few different attitudes. He’s eventually confident, successful. We aren’t close so there are only about two poems about him but both long ones. He takes me on the tightrope and keeps pushing me off for some reason and bringing me back up again. 
There’s a girl who’s really complex. Beautiful, strong, sweet, masculine to tomboyish style of dress. She really diversifies the whole thing not in terms of what she is or how she identifies but in terms of how she affects things and people around her and her power. She inspired a lot of my work and took me to places I didn’t know I could go in my writing. 
How do you prepare to write? (Outline, research, stocking up on chocolate, howling, etc.?)
Oh, I just write, it’s usually urgent. I write like I’m running out of air and it is my way to oxygen.
What are you most looking forward to about this novel?
It’s a grand exploration of a lot for me, it will be really wonderful to see it complete and be able to pick out my fave parts and do art based on them. 
List 3 things about your novel’s setting.
City. 

Universe. 

Human consciousness based on Rupi Kaur’s exploration of it in her Ted talk. 
What’s your character’s goal and who (or what) stands in the way


I think my character’s goal is honestly to find a way to communicate something to someone who they feel needs to hear it and should feel comforted and less alone and to love the person that takes them to heights within their thoughts and depths they didn’t originally consider and I think my character would be dealing with not really being able to let them know that just due to their own communication barriers because they communicate best through art and the abstract and the unreal and that cannot always work with the person in question.  
How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?
I have no idea. 
What are your book’s themes?
Love, humanity, vulnerability, adolescence, adulthood, fatherlessness, blackness, queerness, friendship, dealing with when your friend commits suicide, life, and intimacy fundamentally. You can interpret that how you want to interpret that. 
 How do you want readers to feel when the story is over?
If I ever let the person I’m writing about the most read their poems? I guess I would want them to feel beautiful and to feel loved. That’s what I always want for them. To feel their power, feel their beauty, and feel how loved they are. 
Yeah. Thanks for reading. Have a good Monday. 🙂

One thought on “BEAUTIFUL BOOKS 2016: Let’s talk about NaNo

  1. Do you think any of your poetry will make it onto the blog?

    After years of being a poetry-sceptic, I have got into it lately in a BIG way. I haven’t read Rapi Kaur yet, but she’s on my list. I have heard nothing but good things about her. If you’re looking for anyone new to read I really recommend Rachel Zucker. I’m reading her collection ‘The Pedestrians’ at the moment. It’s very stream of conciousness-style writing. And every now and again it kicks you in the emotional butt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

