SST November: Guest Post for Tara Sim’s Timekeeper!

I haven’t been able to do anything with anything in a long time but I finally got this post up so YAY, success. This book is great! check it out. I think I’m probably going to leave this blog until December and then I’ll start making posts consistently again if not before so I’ll have enough quality posts prepared and everything rather than posting to post. Quality rules over quantity, yeah? Yeah. I hope you’re doing well post election if you’re in America. I’m not, obviously, by the state of this blog.  

Timekeeper GR synopsis: Two o’clock was missing. 
In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.
It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.
And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.
But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

Tara Sim, person who’s reading this! 

Write the main character’s bucket list and how he would most like to achieve the highest item on said bucket-list.

I asked Danny what his bucket list is, but he’s been grumpily unresponsive, so instead Colton is going to share his bucket list with you (after asking what exactly “bucket list” means). Just bear in mind that Colton…doesn’t get out much:

10. I’d like to paint the clock tower a new color, just for fun. Like purple, or pink.

9. Find more clothes? I think it would be nice to have a wardrobe. Not sure where I’d put it, though. Or what would go in it. Recently I heard someone say she needed more petticoats. Maybe I’ll try to find petticoats.

8.  Get more cats. One time an orange cat wandered into the tower and just stayed here. I found food for her and pet her and it was lovely. Then one day she gave birth—I thought she was just fat—and there were suddenly a lot of cats. So the tower was full of them for a while, and it was very nice.

7. Read an entire book on my own. I know how to read now! But reading entirely on my own is still hard.

6. Cook something. I’m so fascinated with watching people in Enfield cook. I don’t even understand it. They cut up some food, add other bits of food, and then it becomes some other sort of food? How does that even happen? Is there a secret I need to know? How does this work?

5. Make Danny laugh more. He is too serious.

4. Play a musical instrument. Sometimes people play on the village green, and it sounds so lovely that I want to try it too. The closest I can come is ringing the bells, I suppose. I tried doing that once when a band was playing and everyone got scared for some reason.

3. I’d like to join the townspeople when they celebrate festivals. I love watching them from the tower, but sometimes I want to go down and dance and drink and laugh with them. I know I can’t, though.

2. Kiss someone.

1. Travel! I want to explore the world, especially after hearing about all of the amazing things that are out there, waiting. It’s hard, sometimes, being stuck in one place. Maybe one day I’ll discover a way to go to them. Or make them come to me. (Danny tells me that is impossible. I told him he is impossible, and he made a face).

Leave a Reply

