Ten Books That Changed My Life Through Word Of Mouth

​Happy Tuesday! Lots of lovely books are coming out today and I hope that you are able to grab even one of them. I rec Still Life With Tornado by A.S. King and Fear The Drowning Deep by Sarah Glenn Marsh. Both women are lovely, intelligent, and wonderful writers and I’m sure you won’t regret your purchase. 
My life has been changed by the recommendations of the book community as a whole from bloggers to writers to authors to readers to agents to editors to booksellers to marketers. All have come together to put out lists of books that people can use to find themselves and better understand the people in the world around them. 
I think when we talk about word of mouth we sometimes miss describing the beauty of it when we describe its value. Word of mouth is magical to me. Think about how wonderful it is that you and I can become connected across oceans by ink droplets on starched paper. That you and I can open a book being one way and then close it being another. That you and I can simply type a title and then someone else can get that title and pass it on and on and on and touch something deep and difficult to articulate within multitudes of people. That’s beautiful to me. I don’t know, maybe it’s just me.
Three books I’ve read and been changed by because of Nic Stone

1. The First Time She Drowned by Kerry Kletter: a raw read that made me feel like I was being physically torn apart. 

2. Everything That Leads To You by Nina LaCour: a read that fulled me with joy and laughter and made me realise the importance of happy stories and write over 20K in four days of the base of a happy story. 

3. Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaley: She talked about him so often I had to make him a priority and when I did, oh when I did, I got a read that made me think, made me feel, made me live and that’s a goal I pursue daily. 

She really is so great at recommendations. The black Dahlia. Speaking of Dahlia…

Three books I’ve read that changed me because  an author, a reader, and a freelance writer in that order gave them to me: 

4. How To Repair A Mechanical Heart by J.C. Lillis: a read about religion and relationships that was funny and painfully true. Given by the wonderful Dahlia Adler. (Click to see diverse books you should be looking out for!)

5. Juliet Takes A Breath by Gabby Rivera: a read about being brown and loving yourself the way you are as well as politics and problematic elements in books and human beings. Given by Carolyn. (Click to follow Carolyn on Twitter!)

 

6. Zami: A New Spelling of My Name by Audre Lorde: a book about love and pain and blackness that is beautiful. More beautiful than the sweetest music that could touch an ear. Given by Michael Waters.  (Click to get to his website where you can find his social media links and all his posts and the blog series, YA Open Mic. Think of all that useful information, all those interesting posts you can use to procrastinate instead of doing your work, just at the click of his name! And it’s his birthday. Yes, you’re welcome!) 

 A series I’ve read because of the book community (7-9): Legend by Marie Lu.

 I recommended this to one of my guy friends and he devoured the entire series. 

A book that I loved so much it led to so much more than I could imagine: Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. You should also pre-order the second novel, The Upside Of Unrequited ASAP, so you can flip all the way to the back and see my lovely name. I’m kidding, obviously so you can read a raw, heartwrenching read that means loads to me and comes out in April. 

How are you doing? OMG, drop all the blog links. I want to catch up on EVERYTHING. 

 

2 thoughts on “Ten Books That Changed My Life Through Word Of Mouth

Leave a Reply

