Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Reasons Why I Love My Ears 

In poem form. Credit for this TTT goes to The Broke and The Bookish. 

I love my ears because 

I can hear the sounds of 

Rapid fire Spanish spill out of the mouth of a man that sometimes feels less than 

But doesn’t realise that the words spilling out of his mouth are done so 

In an art form so complete it shivers underneath my skin like the sudden autumn chill after a warm summer except it feels good. 

I love my ears because 

I can hear the little kids feeling young 

Their whoops of joy and triumph as I push them into space and 

Call them space princes and princesses and they fly and I imagine that we are connected 

I imagine that 

We are all floating together but they float higher and freer 

Than me. 

I love my ears because 

I can hear my friends tell their snarky  jokes and smile. 

I love my ears because 

I can hear the precious accents of my online friends whether through a phone call or a video chat and feel soothed. 

I love my ears because 

I can hear the night sounds

The crickets 

The cars

The Jamaican dad screaming “Taneisha!!!” 

The cat mewling as I give him part of my beef patty and my too salty eggs and plantain in the morning. 

I love my ears because 

I can hear music and I can hear what puts my heart back together and makes it want to beat again. 

Leave a Reply

