The Saturday Oreo: Book twitter exposure v. General health 

​Your first thought when looking at the title of this post might be how is this a question or argument? Your general health comes first, period. And you would be right. Honestly, though, this discussion isn’t about what is more important but about the fact that they clash and why I feel they do. *laughs* Let’s hope I can get that across in this little ramble. 
Creating is important to me and although I don’t feel I necessarily share the same visions or goals for book blogging as I’ve noticed other, “bigger” bloggers have. That doesn’t mean I don’t want to share what I make with you any less and I feel the only way for people to know you exist at all is for you to be at least somewhat active on social media and making connections by supporting other creators, at least. There are no solid rules to being a blogger  but I personally want to share and be involved in twitter chats and meet new people who also create content and love books. If I wasn’t involved, I would have missed out on so much and there are so many great things about bookish twitter and the community as a whole. 
However, sometimes “the diversity discussion” is quite draining as a marginalized individual. I think there are many important threads and things that have been said and I have learned and I an grateful for any who have learned from reading my threads, but I feel there are bloggers that really are just joining the conversation because an occurrence has happened with a book that makes them just now decide to ask questions and get involved in the discussion because now something has happened that’s important enough for them to care about it or want to be involved in it. 

 There’s nothing wrong with asking questions. Asking questions is great, it’s how you learn and understand things and sometimes people. Anyone who talks to me for even ten minutes knows that I ask a lot of questions. 

I guess what I mean by commenting on people asking questions is that the same questions tend to be asked and this discussion has been going on a long time and there have been plenty of opportunities for people to ask these questions beforehand? But I also think that’s impatient of me, and that it’s great to ask questions because again learning and it can lead to great discussions and more people than the asker can learn and that’s great. I’m writing like I speak, which means I’m developing my thoughts and might contradict as I get this out, so please forgive and bear with me. (Stay tuned for a future discussion on contradicting opinions)

Because of this, some misspeak and are uneducated on these issues. They write thoughtless, cruel posts or say really ignorant things. Some with arrogance and then playing the victim when they’re actually called out. 
Being the imperfect human that I am, I do not really have the patience for the nonsense a majority of the time. Especially as someone actually interested and willing to listen and do the work, I find it harder to make room for those who don’t really care about the issue beyond thinking of it as a trend or a petty thing that ruins their bubble of ignorance. 

The repetitive hurtful histrionics feels a bit elementary. I’m simply not as patient as I wish and work to be and this usually affects me personally and drains my energy. 

I think this term, I’m going to avoid going in my TL as often and I’ve been working on limiting/lessening my interactions without disappearing completely and I’ll definitely speak but rather than waste my words on deaf ears—I’m aiming to write and art it out more which feels more productive. I feel like I’m going to try to take at least one week or two week breaks where I just limit my time as much as possible to DM or weekly twitter chats. I think alternating like that will help me avoid the draining parts of being in the book community. 

It’s a complex balance for me. I don’t want to avoid reality of the book community or the community itself but it’s repetitive and draining and not healthy and sometimes my heads spinning or I’m overwhelmed or become frightened by the sudden increase of interactions. Irrationally so, because it usually tend to be positive or things I’ve put out before to be responded to or something. 

But I think irrationality is sometimes a a way of our brains communicating to us that it’s time to take a little or long break. Or at least that’s one of the more important things I learned this summer out of the long list of things. 

What do you think about bookish social media? How does it make you feel? Does it have  more of a positive or negative impact on you? Feel free to either comment or just reflect because a little thinking to ourselves about something in silence and evaluating situations is never a bad thing. It’s a way to evolve and become stronger, better, and sometimes more productive beings. 

Leave a Reply

