Classic Friday: Currently Reading//Mini review of Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley 

​this is basically a mini review of Highly Illogical Behavior by the brilliant John Corey Whaley. 

 How long on average does it take you to read a medium (350-400 page) sized book? 
Between two to three days. It depends on how much I like it. The more I like it, the faster I read. Sometimes less than 24 full hours but like in a Monday night, Tuesday morning kind of way. 
Is your current read amazing, okay, or not very good? Tell why! 
I just finished Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley at the time of writing this and it was absolutely amazing. I think it took a realistic approach to panic attacks, anxiety disorder and queerness whilst also keeping it lighthearted and funny. 
Turn to page 187, the first name to appear will be your one true BFF 
Oooh, guess I have to get a whole bunch of Superman stuff to start making the most rad Superman puns, right or wrong? Trick question. Puns are always right. 
Turn to page 43, the first object will be your weapon in a zombie apocalypse 
Signs? Yeah, that should be helpful. I can just take up a stop sign out of the ground like a warrior and swing it around awkwardly like I’m a bad actor in what’s supposed to be a well funded action adventure movie. That will be entertaining for onlookers, I’m certain. 
First line of your current read
“Solomon never needed to leave his house anyway.”
What do you think about the main character so far?
I thought Solomon was absolutely delightful. Reminded me of a friend. 
What genre are you reading right now?
Contemporary. 
What is your favorite thing about your current read?
The fact that the writing makes it all so deep and real. How moments are written like the main character is mindful and absorbing his world. How the panic attacks are described which is odd I guess because I guess the accurate description is a potential trigger (seriously though) but it’s all really well done, man. 
Is this your first book by this author?
Yes! I know those of you who LOVE John Corey Whaley will be like, “Why? Why?” and I’d just totally agree with you and not defend myself for once. 
Is it a standalone or part of a series?
Standalone. 
Why or how did you choose your current read?
Recommendation from Nic Stone. Been meaning to get to Whaley for a minute. 
If you could go to the world of your current read, regardless of genre, and spend a week there, what would you want to do? Which of the characters would you want to hang out with and why?
I would probably put on a shower cap and put cotton in my ears, a binder and swim trunks and go to the bottom for a little bit with Solomon and enjoy the illusion of silence. I’d sit with all of them in the holodeck and absorb them and moments with them and probably enjoy playing cards with them. It would be fun. 
Take a picture of one thing or place or event that you feel represents your current read. 
 

The Great Outdoors! 

Leave a Reply

