#TopTenTuesday: Books I’d Buy With A Loaded Gift Card

Yay, I’m doing Top Ten Tuesday again! Reminder that for every TTT, credit goes to The Broke And The Bookish.  So this week’s is a rewiiiiind where we can go a recent one or an old one that we missed and so I chose this one. I currently do have a fully loaded gift card, coincidentally since I work as a sensitivity reader with Justina Ireland’s Writing In The Margins database and people keep finding me, oh what a blessing, whenever I need more money. That’s honestly a can I get an amen moment. ANYWAY. If I wasn’t a crazy saver and just immediately had to waste and buy ALL THE BOOKS, what would I buy or pre-order ASAP???

  1. Timekeeper by Tara Sim: This book is just SOOO awesome-looking and when I say I am hype for it? I. AM. HYPE. I am literally the hype that fuels this book out from its hole into the book world. I am just so, so excited. It’s this rad queer thing where a boy has to save this clock spirit in the midst of this turmoil that’s unexpected and clock spirits cannot be loved AND YET. AND YET. This will just end up scheduled and probably borrowed from a library or requested for my school to purchase and then I’ll read it in winter when they put the next set of new books out.
  2. Still Life With Tornado by A.S King: I just read the synopsis and…another amazing, creative book by A.S KING??? SIGN ME UP, SIGN ME UP NOW, GIVE IT TO ME. Now this I might have to pre-order right after I’m done scheduling this post BECAUSE have you read any of A.S King’s books? She is amazing! And I love art and this book, you guys, is about a teen who arts and is going though a family divorce that was long needed that has impacted her greatly. In other words, it’s going to be so so powerful and amaaazing. I loved Ask The Passengers. I loved I Crawl Through It, which I bought with my own money, and then had it change my life, and I loved Glory O Brien’s History Of The Future, a dark and brilliant thing. This year, I’m looking forward to continue crawling through her backlist further by reading Please Ignore Vera Dietz which has some good quotes and Everybody Sees The Ants and in October, I get to look forward to ANOTHER BRAND NEW A.S King book?? I’m SOOOO excited.
  3. THE UPSIDE OF UNREQUITED by Becky Albertalli: This book was an amazing one, I’m waiting for it in ARC form and I am requesting my school library to buy it and they probably will and I’m considering buying it because Becky is one of my auto-buys and I loved LOVED her newest book. Look out for it in April or now if you’re someone who can get your hands on ARCs, they just came out from what I can tell.
  4. Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi: I loved the Shatter Me series. It was one of the first series I read when I was old enough to be let into the YA section of  the library I frequent. I love Alice In Wonderland and this is a retelling and I would consider it even though I don’t read MG as often anymore.
  5. DEAR MARTIN by Nic Stone: This one I’m definitely going to buy in hardcover and paperback, I just adore, adore, adore Nic’s writing. Her style is unusual for me, quick-witted, beautiful, and powerful. Keep your eyes out for her, she’s going to be one of the best of the 2017 newbies. Of that, I am certain.
  6. 27 Hours by Tristina Wright: I plan on reading this in the fall, hopefully! Tristina is a whole other (better) type of human being. She is such a gorgeous person and a brilliant writer from what I’ve read of her work. Stunning, just stunning. Look out for her also in 2017, she’s not one to be left off of your radar and if she isn’t already my one question is…how? I have been wanting t pre-order this forever.
  7. Fish Out Of Water by Natalie Whipple: I actually really want to read this book but unfortunately the price for getting it either new or used is disgustingly astronomical for even a paperback (between 30 to over 50 USD) and it’s not in my library system. i might request for my library to get it but looking at the prices, I find the chance of ever getting to read this book on my TBR unlikely which is a shame because it’s intriguing and I would love to but it’s just inaccessible. And God forbid I spend the money, get it, and then hate it. That would anger me most likely. Oh, Fish Out Of Water, I meet you in another life.
  8. You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levithan: Both are amazing authors with a true writing ability. I added Nina LaCour to my TBR when John Green call it one of the best books of all time back when I was a bigger fan of vlogbrothers. I ended up reading Nina LaCour’s Everything That Leads To You because it was a Christmas gift from the 2017 author I have been talking about since last summer AND IT WAS SOOOOOOOO GOOOOD. It was beautiful in terms of writing and the story and will make you almost lift out of your seats with the FEELS. It’s a mostly happy story too which, yes, finally. I’m looking for more happy queer stories and after reading it and the acknowledgements where she talks about how she learned how important it was to put happy, hopeful stories. It gave me courage to write a happy story and I stopped in the middle of a darker story and spent four days writing a happy one before going back to finish the darker story and got 28k done and then looked back and refreshed my word count in shock. Levithan, his writing is original, interesting, and utterly beautiful and I’m looking forward to reading them together.
  9. I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson: This is a book that has been on my TBR for years and I’ll probably request it from the library and finally, finally read it.
  10. Thicker Than Water by Kelly Fiore: This just seems so fascinating!

What are books you’d buy if you had a fully loaded gift card?

 

 

Leave a Reply

