Team G(r)ay BBCP: CLASSIC FRIDAYS

classic fridays

Hey, fam! So, sorry, I’ve been gone for a while to those of you who noticed and have said very nice things about my blog. But I’m finally back from a much needed slow-down hiatus thing and I’m looking forward to doing as many ALL THE THINGS, slowly and carefully so as not to overwhelm and crash, I possibly can for you and looking at your epic blog posts if you’re a blogger.

So, it’s the second year that I’m participating in the BBCP which is Queen Nori’s Book Blogger Creativity Project. If there’s anything i love, it’s creative projects and this is to help bloggers get to know each other whilst creating something AWESOME for their blogs.

So, Classic Fridays is going to be an epic weekly feature that you’ll be able to see here as well as on the other bloggers which I’ll start linking in a part of my blog as soon as I can get that set up! That part being the directory which I need to update, and keep my old posts so people can find them and look through my old work. 🙂

So, without further ado, let’s get to this week’s topic which is TBR!

How big is your TBR?

So my TBR is not that big anymore. I decided to sort of not count my Goodreads and count the physical lists I make myself for reading schedules. So, as of right now, 30 books. 13 on a reading schedule, and I’ve gotten almost half of my reading schedule for summer and fall done. This also includes manuscripts that I sensitivity read for as well as ARCs, e-ARCs, and PDFs that I might have been gifted by people or bought myself, the majority of my stuff is recommended or given by others. Make that 32, I have to re-read Becky’s book in ARC form because it’s so good. Look for The Upside of Unrequited in stores near you in April, folks! And I just got a recent job.

What 5 books are at the top of your TBR?

The Miseducation of Cameron Post, my final book on my summer TBR for the summer, physical of course, the e-books are done, too, and all that would be left is a handful of manuscripts but that might be pushed back. I’ll try not o, because this is the best time to read.

Do you ever dump books off your TBR if you don’t get to them after a certain amount of time?

Yes, that’s what I did with my Goodreads TBR which has over 200 books on it, thank you very much, I may read some of what I have put on there, but it’s not scheduled which means that currently it’s not a priority, not really on my radar.

How do you prioritize your TBR?

It depends. I would like to say that paid manuscripts have to be at the top because it’s a job. Also, books whether physical or electronic that I am gifted by book community members or other friends. Those go at the top, and then we get to what I want to read that’s scattered waiting to be organised later. However, books that I’m gifted or paid to read are usually books that I greatly enjoy, rarely otherwise.

Can you build a bookish rainbow with your TBR pile? (Bookstagram prompt, use #classicfridays)

Omg, I can’t do that right now, so let’s just list it, yikes. I LOOOOVE RAINBOWS.

Red: Simon Vs. , finished long time

Orange: Zami: A New Spelling of My Name: A Biomythography by Audre Lorde, just finished

Yellow: I’ll Give You The Sun

Green: Fear The Drowning Deep

Blue: The Upside of Unrequited, in ARC form. 27 Hours.

Violet: I’m probably wrong, but for some reason, I thought of Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner?

Which genre is the most prominent?

Contemporary, whether there’s a slight twist to it or not.

TBR Spine/Title Poetry (Bookstagram prompt #classicfridays)

Oh, God, I can’t right nooow.

Which book has the longest time on your TBR? 

Made You Up by Franscesca Zappia and This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzie Lee, almost or over a year.

How does a book make it onto your TBR list? (Do you just throw it on there or make sure it’s something that you will actually read?)

It’s something that I will actually read. Books used to get on my TBR by me seeing stuff in the book community and being like OOOH LA  LA LA LAAAA. Now, usually a friend from the book community will buy me something or an author I’ve made a connection with will send me an ARC or someone will ask me to read their work or I’ll ask to read someone else’s but not get to it because I used to be bad with scheduling and I’m working with my time management skills and skills that I need to take care of my health which limits what I can do as I work to expand that limit, slowly and with patience.

What book are you hesitant to read?

Random book that isn’t scheduled? What We Left Behind by Robin Talley. I read her first book, and while it was good and I was excited, I found the book quite painful and a white woman writing about racism in a black person’ voice despite all the work she does for social justice having a serious amount of audacity. Don’t get me wrong, it was a great story. Powerful, and beautiful but also very painful for me to read because I winced knowing a white woman was writing all these racist terms, despite context, it was far too much for me, and that makes me wonder if I can handle GQ representation, no matter how well done by her after that or if I’m now closed off to her future work.

Books on your TBR list because everyone else seems to have read it.

None. i don’t really follow the crowd like that with my TBR. If I want to read a popular book, it’s because it genuinely intrigues me, not for the popularity factor. It is true I might add it because of hype, but it may never get read and looking at the lists I have scheduled and planned as an immediate TBR, there isn’t a single book on there, most of them are gifts or requests and that’s why they are scheduled or recommended because I tweeted out a request for a specific type and like 60 plus people came back with recs. None of it is based on popularity now, although last year, it might have been a different story. Most of the books aren’t well known, or are only just being recognised  and highly anticipated within the community.

See you next week with another set of answers to questions!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Team G(r)ay BBCP: CLASSIC FRIDAYS

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ohh these are SUCH cool questions! I love it! And omg my TBR is enormously unmanageale. *cries and hides from it* We won’t even talk abut the 1,000 on goodreads hahah, but actual ones I own there are 60 on the need-to-read-like-yesterday pile. And the depths of my kindle.😳😱 Yes I have a mild book collecting problem. (But is it a problem? hahahha.)😂 Oh but I’m kicking myself because I saw The Mis-Education of Cameron Post at a library sale (HARDCOVER TOO) and I didn’t get it because I was trying to cut down on how many books I snabbled…such a shame, gah. I’ve wanted to read it for a while and I heard it was quite good. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, no, don’t shame!!! Too many! I’ve had that on my TBR for a few years and it’s in my school library so shame on me but am finally trying to read because a friend from the book community got me it for Christmas and was like read this first and I’ve read the other two she gave me this summer but not that one yet. I MUST before September. Oh wooooow.
      I would probably start giving them away as gifts or selling them to the library or something. I’m sure you would earn some serious coin. Oh wow. And 60??? I want to make you a reading schedule. The sucky thing is you might read by the schedule for a while and feel great and then you want a book off the schedule and you feel guilty for not staying on task. Like I’ve gotten through a majority of the physical books I have on my list and I’m trying to do one more and then a manuscript on there and then I’ll allow myself an off-sched book as a reward and then focus on the schedule again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

