Open To Be Your Favorite Sensitivity Reader!

Hello there, awesome writer! I’m now apart of the Writing In The Margins Sensitivity Reader Database! I was apart of the project prior along with others and I am an experienced beta reader, meaning I did this for free before joining the database!

image

(Shorter person with the wider eyes)

What experience can you give me sound feedback on in regards to my characters?

-Being queer (also refer to myself as gay or lesbian)
-Being black (no, I do not have a mixed background!)
-Being genderfluid (Pronouns: She/her and they/them)
-Having experience with depression and anxiety: Suicide/suicidal ideation/panic attacks.

Sources of reference to expand on your experience?

Sure! There are certainly more to come!

Published/Soon To Be Published Authors:

Becky Albertalli: beckyalbertalli.com
Nic Stone: nicstone.info

Teenage Writers (with agents):

Jordan Villegas
Camryn Garret

By saying you did this for free before, would you do this for free now?

If you are a teenage writer, absolutely! Otherwise, I would offer a reduced rate! However, it would have to be within the parameters of the terms on the website: http://writeinthemargins.org/sensitivity-readers/. I also copy and paste and provide below.

What are the terms and conditions of the database service? What can a sensitivity reader help me with, according to the organization you work with?

“Writing in the Margins recommends a basic minimum of $250 for a high level overall read on a manuscript (60,000-100,000 words).  The manuscript should be free of glaring errors and should be nearly submission ready, meaning it should be a later draft and something that has been reviewed by others.

$250 will get a writer a high level read as well as a notes page detailing what is working and what problems the reader saw, as well as problems highlighted within the text.  Again, this is NOT a structural edit.

Please keep in mind that $250 is the starting point for this kind of a read through.  A few readers are also editors and may offer additional services.  In addition, sensitivity readers with more reading/writing experience may charge more.  We recommend inquiring as to the rates of the reader prior to sending any material.  In addition, we advise sensitivity readers to get their payment prior to reading.

When a writer identifies the need for a sensitivity reader they should check out the sensitivity reader directory here on Writing in the Margins.  After identifying a reader you would like to work with, writers should either contact the reader directly or via Writing in the Margins (wewriteinthemargins@gmail.com) .

Writers should have a good idea of what is working and what isn’t, and should identify what exactly they’re looking for in the critique.  In addition, please have a realistic idea of turnaround time (30 days is about average) and if you’re looking for a quicker time that may lead to additional costs.”

“Sensitivity readers can help you identify problematic language and internalized bias on the page when writing outside of your experiences.  This is not a guarantee that others will not have issues with your work.  But it is a way to attempt to catch and correct high level issues prior to submission or publication.”

 What are your rates?
How do you accept your pay? Reduced rates and who do they apply to again?
Could I pay you after? Refundable?

I accept the average $250 dollars minimum.

I accept my pay through Amazon e- gift card, Visa gift card, and/or mail order. 
No, you cannot pay me after the service, I will do a faithful job for you and this is a completely nonrefundable service.

Your reduced rate is $100. **

*This reduced rate is not applicable to a story containing anything with suicide or suicidal ideation.
*I would like a reason for why you need this reduced rate. But I’m not harsh or demanding, if you genuinely can’t afford this and you’re nice, I’ll give it to you easily.

Accepted reasons: Unemployment. College student*.
*Proof will be needed.
If you can provide proof that you actually attend the school that you’re claiming to attend, you may be able to get below the reduced rate, depending on the manuscript’s content.

Reasons that will not be accepted: You think it’s too expensive or that I’m undeserving of the rate set by the organization because of discriminatory reasons such as race, sex, age, sexuality, and things of that nature.

What do you accept and what don’t you? If you don’t accept my manuscript, how can I find someone else from this credible, awesome database that gives people credit for the hard work they’ve been doing just to survive in our biased society? How do I  contact you if you do work for me?

I accept YA literature, possibly NA depending on the content, specifically queer.

I do not accept: high fantasy, magical realism, paranormal activity of any sort (that also includes evil beings within high fantasy), horror, or the use of magic, especially of a dark variety.

I don’t work for you? Sorry 😦 Look at a whopping 82 others and see what they might take: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1mM70yfB4KgoETAqZg8tG174vChgdxOWW74xPME_gRaw/edit?usp=sharing

I do and you want to contact me? Any questions?
Yay! Email me at fighterofawriter777 (AT) gmail (DOT) com!

Have a day full of blessings!

4 thoughts on “Open To Be Your Favorite Sensitivity Reader!

  1. To anyone reading this, this is an almost endorsement:

    Wesaun has an incredibly keen eye to sensitive, problematic content and has, in the past, gratuitously picked apart many of my book-related discussion posts by highlighting areas to consider improvement and/or re-evaluating the narrative. While I haven’t worked with her directly (re personal writing), her openness and forward-thinking approach and attitude is what I’ve come to appreciate from her endeavours to better today’s conversation. Look no further for sound advice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

