[Book Review] Tell Me Again by Sara Farizan

Title: Tell Me Again How A Crush Should Feel 
Author: Sara Farizan
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Favorite Quote: We talk but we never really say anything
Rating: 5 Stars

I wish Farizan would write more books. Her story is vital to YA literature and feels original when read. As soon as you open this book, you fall in love with the authenticity. You are immediately sucked into Leila’s world. Leila is witty and so raw. She’s one of those characters who keeps you turning the page and makes you genuinely laugh out loud. The moments where we get a peek under Leila’s skin. The moments where we see her desire to please her parents to an extent; the fear, anxiety, and discomfort that can come with figuring out your orientation, the first crush, and feeling like you can’t be loved. It was pretty relatable for me personally and so that enhanced my reading experience.

The characters in this book and the friendships are developed and integral to the plot which I really loved. What I learned from this book: the importance of real conversation, friendships, risks, loving and having enough confidence to be yourself no matter what. This may not always be a book on my mind but it always be in my heart and that’s what matters most.

GO READ!!! Next mini review on If You Could Be Mine!

7 thoughts on “[Book Review] Tell Me Again by Sara Farizan

  1. Melanie @BooksAreMyChildren says:

    I recently just read this book and I loved it so much! Sara does need to write more books, I would definitely buy them all. 😀

    Like

  2. Hi! New follower here! I adored this book—Sara Farizan just mixes diversity with LGBT romance so well. I totally agree—Farizan’s characters are the ones that us readers are able to understand so well. They are so relatable, even if they aren’t in the same life situation as readers! Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

