Beautiful People: January

Here are some writerly resolutions. The original post is here.

 

What were your writing achievements last year?

2015 writing achievements were participating in NaNo for the second year in a row, and getting to 30k for the first time, as well as typing a story for the first time. I also wrote poetry consistently.

Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year?

For this year, I have SO many ideas, but my top priority right now is a story I’m working on and going to split into two different versions, The Wrong Questions, and eventually Jabberwocky.

 

List 5 areas you’d like to work the hardest to improve this year.

  • To complete ideas when I begin them in a sentence
  • Going into other perspective characters or minor characters’ lives more, and making them more of actual people.
  • Letting other book people actually read my work, and let go of any fear I may have, in regards to poetry, and eventually critiquing, etc
  • To be completely into the story as I’m writing it as if I’m there at all times
  • Editing

Are you participating in any writing challenges?

If there are any, I may. I definitely will participate in NaNo this year, that’s not even a question.

What’s your critique partner/beta reader situation like and do you have plans to expand this year?

*I* am a beta reader, but I have not gotten any readers/partners for my work, as of yet. Mostly because the projects are not complete, there are revisions to go through before I’d show another eye. I have a list of people willing to read for me, though, when the time comes.

Do you have plans to read any writer-related books this year? Or are there specific books you want to read for research?

I have a long list of dragon books to read for research. I may end up mainly using Queen of Shadows, which I read because I’m a fan, but with research in mind.

Pick one character you want to get to know better, and how are you going to achieve this?

Wren, she’s a new character, and I fear her becoming exactly like India. I’m going to fill out character templates for them both.

Do you plan to edit or query, and what’s your plan of attack?

I do plan to edit, but not query. I plan to probably take a little break, and then I’ll attack it viciously each day. I’ll read a chapter, laugh at how god awful it may be, and then edit it as if I am a reader from the outside. I really love how you used plan of attack in this question, got me thinking.

Toni Morrison once said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”  What are the books that you want to see more of, and what “holes” do you think need filling in the literary world?

This is an excellent question, Cait and Sky. EXCELLENT. I talk about the holes I see missing in the literary world so much that you must be getting tired of hearing it, I would like to write a cheesy, or maybe edit a cheesy lesbian love story. That’s like TFIOS, in the sense of cheesiness and cuteness, but better.

4 thoughts on “Beautiful People: January

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Eep, I’m glad you liked that last question. ;D I could probably do a whole post on it, tbh, hehe, because I wanna write SO MANY BOOKS that I don’t feel like exist enough! BUT OMG JABBERWOCKY AND DRAGONS!! I hope you have a good time with Jabberwocky edits. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

