#TopTenTuesday: New Faves for 2015

AS KING: I read my first A.S King book at a time when I was not ready for peculiar YA. See, I had not yet experienced true quality. I was immersed in the recycled trite stories that somehow still manage to get put on shelves, and marketed to the top of the New York Times bestseller list. That book was Reality Boy, and that was in 2013. This year, I read Ask The Passengers, I Crawl Through It, and Glory O Brien’s History of The Future and all books managed to resonate with me in some way. Each book was similar in nothing but high quality and excellent writing that reached my foundation and shook it. I am still crawling through King’s backlist although I am pausing to read a library book, and an ARC before going on to the next one I plan to read which is Please Ignore Vera Dietz, and putting on hold Everybody Sees The Ants, and seeing if there is anything else I can find…King is brilliant.  I recommend her books to all.

Sara Farizan: As soon as I started reading my first, and certainly not my last if I have anything to say about it, I was captured and it brought a smile to my face. There aren’t many books outside the Western world I feel, or maybe they just aren’t marketed well to those of us living in the West because I rarely hear of many. Not even just the West, I rarely read or hear of a book that is set outside of America, and that genuinely bothers me. Where are the other books set in the Middle East? Where are the books set in the Caribbean? Where are the books set in various parts of Asia? Africa? WHERE. ARE. THEY????If you know any good ones, please recommend them to me in the comments below. I would love to see a book set in a different location. Please. ESPECIALLY Caribbean, help a sister out.

Julie Murphy: Julie Murphy is a badass that breaks barriers by writing her heartwarming, delightful Dumplin’ which I loved.

Stephen Chbosky: I read TPOBAW for the first time this year and WOOOOW. They don’t write those like that anymore.

Patrick Ness: NESS is a literary genius, you really cannot deny it. His book, A Monster Calls, brought tears to my eyes, and that was one of the most high quality books I had read in a while.

Tamara Ireland Stone: Ugh, Every Last Word is so underrated.

V.E Schwab: VICTORIA! YOU CANNOT GO WRONG WITH A SCHWAB BOOK. SHE KNOWS HOW TO WRITE SHE KNOWS HOW TO WRITE SHE KNOWS HOW TO WRIIIIITTTTEEEEEE!!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “#TopTenTuesday: New Faves for 2015

Leave a Reply

