Books I’m Thankful For

I saw the options for this Tuesday’s thanksgiving freebie, and I found I wanted to do them all. So, this week is going to be a real American Thanksgiving obsessed week on the blog considering it’s been a dry well. Credit to The Broke and The Bookish.

Mosquitoland by David Arnold: This book, to me, was powerful, I really loved it. The voice of Mim was something that I could relate to easier than the majority of books, and this book was just really well developed. The characters were realistic, and mostly lovable. Mim’s voice was strong, and original. The writing for me was lyrical, and beautiful and I would rate it four stars, and recommend it to all.

Ask The Passengers by A.S. King: This book was a quirky, original read with well developed characters. Astrid is, again, relatable. Her voice was realistic, and powerful and I liked the philosophical mindset she had. she will definitely stick with me. I loved the dad in this novel, the best friends, and the girlfriend. it was just a novel that you love as soon as you start reading.

I Crawl Through It by A.S King: As an advanced high school student, i’m usually under a lot of stress, and the way these students handled it in such a creative fashion, and expressed themselves was just beautiful to me. Nearly every page resonated with me, and it is such a quotable masterpiece, you guys do not even know. I am going to review as fast as I can. I would reread it, and I think it will be one of those that I reread often.

If I could talk about manuscripts I would, but I can’t I can only say that I’ve recently read one by Jordan Villegas. So I’ll talk about him instead. This dude is a genius. You guys do not know what YA is missing without him. There is just so much mediocrity out there, and what I’ve read from Jordan may be the best contemporary i have read in maybe 2 years. I have read a lot of great books, so that is honestly really saying something. Ugh, his writing drips with beauty, power, and elegance. Seriously, there is no one like him. I don’t need to read all of YA to know that. There are some writers where their writing just has a quality and style that sticks with you, and he definitely is one of my favorite writers of this year, and consistently.

Another person I will talk about since I obviously cannot talk about their work being unreleased is Nic Stone. This. Woman. There’s just something about her writing. It’s humorous, and just so undeniably now. When a person of color writes something, from my experience, it tends to be good or better if they have the talent because harder work is necessary due to this system. Nic is exceptional. Please keep her in the back of your mind. Her first novel is supposed to be out in 2017, Dear Martin, from Random House!

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera: This book was a thunderstorm. The emotion was the thunder that made me shake from its power, the lightning was the humor within the darkness, and the rain is the writing style. Adam is a writer who you will not believe is a debut. He captures you, and does not let you go until the last page. It was such a powerful read for me, and it is some of the best writing I have read.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness: Ness’ writing will tear you apart. He is quite literally unforgettable. You just have to read it. JUST. READ. IT.

 

 

 

One thought on “Books I’m Thankful For

Leave a Reply

