Nostalgic Book Review Tag

Thank you to Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts for saving me by tagging me in this tag. This one is definitely a challenge, as I do not have much record of books from that age. Let’s try a childhood book.

“The Nostalgic Book Review Tag was created by CW @ Read, Think, Ponder with the premise of reviewing a book you’ve read three or more years agoFun or not, it’s a trip down memory lane!”-Rules from Joey’s post, linked above.

Part 1: The Summary: First, tell us a little bit about this book, and approximately when you read it. Write a summary (brief, long, anything you like!) of the book you are reviewing.

Dear Reader,

I’m sorry to say that the book you are holding in your hands is extremely unpleasant. It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. From the very first page of this book when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, continuing on through the entire story, disaster lurks at their heels. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.

In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.

It is my sad duty to write down these unpleasant tales, but there is nothing stopping you from putting this book down at once and reading something happy, if you prefer that sort of thing.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket” Summary credit to Goodreads. I read this in 6th grade, my last year in my elementary school, and I picked up a copy in my school library on a Thursday which was library day, after 8 am. I was interested by the premise, and got hooked into this series. My school library did not have all the books, and I had to go to the public library to finish it. This was back in the days before advanced classes, and the stress of starting the high school transcript early. Before I had any real concerns beyond petty drama, when i did not truly know what stress was, and I had all the time in the world because the homework took no effort or thought. Ah, the nostalgia of childhood. I read this when I was 11, I am 14. Do the math. 

Plot: See the summary, please. It’s basically about these three kids who become orphaned after a fire, and have to live with this supposed relative, Count Olaf, who treats them like shit and makes their lives hell. They have to come up with creative ways to escape, uplift each other, and survive the hell that they go through.

Characters: Violet, Sunny, and Klaus Baudelaire. Simply unforgettable characters. I feel they were pretty well developed, and you could connect to these character almost instantaneously. They were just so interesting. Sunny was an infant, a pretty active infant that found ways to communicate despite her youth. Klaus was about 12, erudite, interested in technology and had great skills in the area which came in handy during multiple incidents of peril. Actually, wait, i could be confusing that with Violet because she had a talent in this area too. Violet Budelaire was 14, and she loved to read. Count Olaf was a disgusting man who may have stole the children for their money or the money that they were supposed to inherit from their dead parents.

Part 2: My Thoughts, Share your thoughts on your chosen book. Reflect and talk about what you thought of the book back then.

I thought this book was quite interesting, as I might’ve mentioned earlier. it was one of the most quirky books I read during my childhood, and it was the last middle grade series I read before my transition into the young adult category. My library has a children’s section, and a teen’s, and as soon as you’re going into 7th grade, you start going regularly into that section. Obviously, you can go wherever you please, and whatever you please, but there were certain sections relegated to certain age groups, and so I didn’t begin to read YA for real, for real until I was about 12 even though I read THG when I was 11. I absolutely adored this book. I actually began to find most of my favorite words in this series, and my love for words and increasing my vernacular really became strong whilst reading this series. This series changed my life, honestly.

Part 3:  The Epilogue: Here’s the fun part: now you can look up a summary of the book – find all those names that you couldn’t remember, those plot points that seemed pretty important – and all those things you might have forgotten. Don’t go back and edit the summary from the first part!

Whoops! Guess this is where it becomes obvious that I was doing this tag whilst reading the post I was tagged in! If it helps, I did  not read the Goodreads summary before describing. I just copied and pasted from Goodreads, and then described. You don’t have to believe me, but it’s the truth!

2 thoughts on “Nostalgic Book Review Tag

  1. I love this post, and I think you did pretty well at remembering this story! I really liked those books as a kid, too, but I think I never read them all ! I saw the movie, with, Emily Browning, I think?, too, and I found it quite okay. I don’t remember if it stayed that true to the book, though, since I read it WAY before seeing the movie. This tag was so hard to do, ahah, you did better than me I think 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

