Beautiful Books #2: The Writing Process//November

Check out Cait & Sky’s post for this month hereeeee with all the info.

My post from last month aka Beautiful Books numero uno!

Is the book turning out how you thought it would be, or is it defying your expectations?

A little bit of both! I’m getting deeper into the characters and the people in their lives more than I expected.

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

Not exactly the first, but in the beginning. For Noah: These are all answers to the first section. These are all answers to the wrong fucking questions. For India: …And I am feeling trapped.

Are you a plotter or a pantser? Have you ever tried both methods and how did it turn out?

More of a pantser. Trying both right now, mainly pantsing and it’s going just fine! I have been plotting Jabberwocky, but I always pants.

What do you reward yourself with after meeting a goal?

Popcorn!

What do you look for in a name? Do you have themes and where do you find your names?

Something that I like the sound, sometimes an interesting meaning. Sometimes I know of people with interesting names, sometimes relating to history or just online.

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

The beginning, because of the vibe I get beginning a new project. I just have a lot of energy, and it’s like releasing a heavy burden.

Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

Noah.

What kind of things have you researched for this project, and how do you go about researching? (What’s the weirdest thing you’ve researched?!)

The weirdest thing I’ve researched…the brain? types of skirts? not much, so far. There are a lot of things that I want to research, though.

Do you write better alone or with others? Do you share your work or prefer to keep it to yourself?

I write better alone, I haven’t really written with others but i prefer to write alone, honestly. Sharing my work with others is something that I will eventually do, I have a list of people, but something that makes me uncomfortable except for some of my poetry.

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

Popcorn! Ice cream! I do listen to music, but I think I might cut back on that, because I listen to music using my phone, and my phone can be a huge distraction, but maybe I’ll just get better at keeping myself from touching my phone while working because music really gets me in the mode of the scenes or chapters I write. It depends on when I have the most energy. The afternoon, or early evening, perhaps? Sometimes, the morning.

One thought on “Beautiful Books #2: The Writing Process//November

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ooh, this was super interesting! 😀 Popcorn tho…omg I now officially have a popcorn craving. Thanks a lot. 😉 I used to struggle to share my writing SO MUCH but now…I’m getting better?! I definitely find it easy to share snippets, but usually I die at giving out the entire book. Neeeerves. They’re killers.
    Good luck for the rest of Nano! 😀 And thanks for joining in!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

