#WritersLife Tag

So, I wasn’t tagged by anyone, I just saw this tag over at Adventuring Through The Pages, and decided to do it because I feel I don’t really talk about writing all that much. I guess I never really considered myself a hardcore “real” writer in the community because I never had any intentions to get published beyond Wattpad, honestly. I don’t know much about the publishing process or querying, and I mostly write short stories and poetry, and I have never written a full manuscript, although I plan to try soon.

Writing has always been a part of me similar to reading. I’ve written my little stories since I was 5, and I have notebooks full of them among other things. I wrote a little picture book with my best friend (of many) when we were 6. Like these notebooks fill up a whole space in the little bookshelf space under my desk. It was only recently when I read an insightful post over at Jordan’s blog, and it sort of hit me like, “Oh, well, yeah. I guess me writing anything constantly or at all does make me a writer in this community, obviously.” And, I don’t know, writing can sometimes be a really personal thing. It’s raw, and messy, and the power of turning feelings or thoughts into a somewhat neat arrangement of words on a document, or handwritten into notebooks like I mostly did and still do is just…amazing. But it’s also a huge part of  who I am, and it always will be even though I don’t plan to pursue a career in it, and so I thought I’d share that a little more with the community, and I probably will occasionally talk about it here because I can, and I want to. On to the tag!

WRITE FUEL: WHAT DO YOU EAT/DRINK WHILE WRITING?

I don’t really eat anything while writing, or drink anything, either. I mean, i’ll occasionally have water, or some hot chocolate, or fruit, or ramen but that definitely isn’t common when I’m in my writing mode (hand-writing), that’s more while I’m blogging or writing on the computer, which while I feel the same energy just feels different in being able to eat/drink. Most times i’ll be focused, and not too hungry. I have nothing to do with food or drinks while I’m writing poetry, or in the zone while writing with an actual pencil/pen, I’m in the zone.

WRITE SOUNDS: WHAT DO YOU LISTEN TO WHILE WRITING?

Along with some Halsey, this beautiful playlist of recommendations made by The Music Recommendation King aka John (it’s a really amazing playlist, I like every single song on it, and I am forever grateful for it)

image

image

image

image

A playlist of PERFECTIONNNNNNNN. LITERALLY EVERY SONG. EVERY. ONE.

WRITE VICE: WHAT’S YOUR MOST DEBILITATING DISTRACTION?

Twitter, I love Twitter as you probably know if you follow me on there (@epicbooklover) and sometimes, YouTube.

WRITE HORROR: WHAT’S THE WORST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED TO YOU WHILE WRITING?

Mistakenly writing in CAPS, because then I’ll have to erase it all. Or when I am trying to edit, and there’s that weird space thing where it erases the word in front of it which is really frustrating for me. Losing the document would be a disaster, but I mostly handwrite.

WRITE JOY: WHAT’S THE BEST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED WHILE WRITING OR HOW DO YOU CELEBRATE SMALL VICTORIES?

I love being in that productive zone, where all my ire just balls up into fire and I’m in that mode where I can conquer a legion, and I just get shit done, and feel that power coursing through me as the words keep flowing. My beast mode. like, right now, I’m typing this straight onto WordPress rather than first outlining on [paper, and it just feels so good because I type really fast, and it just sort of gets an energy flowing through me.

WRITE CREW: WHO DO YOU COMMUNICATE WITH OR NOT COMMUNICATE WITH WHILE WRITING?

I don’t really consider myself really writing until I get in that zone, so when I’m in that zone, nobody can speak to me. No one.

WRITE SECRET: WHAT’S YOUR WRITING SECRET TO SUCCESS OR HIDDEN FLAW?

I should totally say something arrogant like, talent, but nah. It’s the beast mode. I crave productivity,. I love the satisfaction of completing an item on a to-do list, and just in general getting a lot of shit done, and getting it done well. I love setting goals, and going beyond them, I sort of lunge for what I want, and knock it down to the floor until it is conquered. That mode can make me capable of anything.

WRITE-SPIRATION: WHAT ALWAYS MAKES YOU PRODUCTIVE?

Me. LOLLLLLLLLLLL. fine, Setting a goal and then wanting to reach it.

WRITE PEEVE: WHAT’S ONE THING WRITERS DO (OR YOU DO) THAT’S ANNOYING?

“I let out a breath I didn’t know I was holding.” Enough said.

WRITE WORDS- SHARE ONE SENTENCE FROM A PROJECT. PAST OR PRESENT

I gasp, it feels like every breath is being taken out of my lungs as I say these words that I know Fraser will never repeat. I sob, and gasp again.

“I killed her.’

This is taken from my WIP Jabberwocky. It’s an Alice In Wonderland retelling of sorts, but not really. It’s actually going into the Jabberwocky’s past. I gave the premise before so let me copy and paste:  Two black queer queens who transform into dragons and fight against other queer clans to get a time bomb of a dragon. That dragon is the Jabberwocky from Lewis Carrol’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, and I will be NaNo-ing it this coming November.

I definitely will talk more about it in the future, I feel, but I’m in the stage of building my characters. The character speaking is Lilo, and he’s talking to his husband who rules alongside him of their dragon clan, Fraser.

Alright! I tag anyone who is a writer, or considers themself a writer! But especially the few I know of:

15 thoughts on “#WritersLife Tag

  1. “so when I’m in that zone, nobody can speak to me. No one.” ME TOO WESAUN! I remember my sister would get super mad at me whenever I was writing essays/blog posts because I would ignore her – not intentionally, I just didn’t hear her! Or blocked her out. One of those, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing answers! I loved getting to know this writer part of you a little more. 🙂 I don’t consider myself a writer, at all, actually I haven’t written anything past blog posts these last few months. But I can say that I did wrote a lot in the past, and I miss it awfully. Glad to see you’re doing NanoWriMo this year! I’m still not sure if I should participate… 🙂
    I’d love to read some of your writing, I’m sure it’s amazing! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YOU ARE SO LOVELY! I was readong this post and the entire time I was thinking “man, I really want to do this tag!” and then I see that you tagged me. *sobs with happiness* ❤
    But this is amazing that you’re a writer too! I’m about to start a new work for a novel which I hope will progress further than my last one! It’s been floating around my head for ages now.
    AND OMG YOU’RE A FAN OF HALSEY?! Her new album is simply flawless. FLAWLESS and great to write to. 😍
    I actually cannot wait to do this tag! 🙌

    Much love,
    Josephine @ Josie’s Book Corner

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

