August Wrap-Up

Monthly wrap-ups are a bit long. Feel free to skip to any emboldened section you wish!

My Month

  • I went to Denbigh Festival for the first time. If you don’t know, it’s an agricultural festival in Jamaica to celebrate independence in Jamaica. All different parishes come with their animals, and lots of cooked food, there’s loud music and it’s fun (at least it was for me).
  • INDEPENDENCE DAY IN JAMAICA was the 6th of August, and I was there to celebrate it which meant a lot to me.
  • I also went to a movie in Jamaica which was actually a live performance of a play outside (and if you didn’t know I love theatre, whether it means participating in it or going to watch it), and I enjoyed it, it was an amazing experience.
  • In general, I personally haven’t been great because I had to come back to New York (customs only allows us a month outside the country), and that was hard because it felt like returning back to school was closer (which it is), and that’s back to a lot of stress that I am definitely not prepared to have to take again. As well as the news of all the police brutality in July also had me reluctant to return to the U.S., it felt like going into fire, and I still am not used to being back. Everything seems so strange to me now, and I miss the home feeling I had back in JA. I miss the food, the feel of the air, and the family members I left behind, I miss that feeling of freedom I had.
  • I did my first guest post over at Bookish Babes last Friday, and it was a success. Thank you to all of you who said such wonderful hings to me about it, it meant a lot.
  •  I started beta reading for Nic which has honestly been the best experience I have had so far when it comes to “working” in the book world.
  • I successfully (although i cut it close) prepared all my posts for September! WHOOOOOOOOOO-HOOOOOOOOO.

Announcements

  • NEW YORKERS: Sarah J. Maas is having the QoS launch at 92Y.

Top Ten Tuesdays

Great Music I Listened To

Books I Read

Tags/Awards

Favorite Posts in The Blogosphere

9 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Eep, thanks for linking to my posts! ^_^ Yay that you had such a good time back in Jamaica! Are you in NY for school or something? (Sorry if that’s a weird question! You don’t have to answer :P) Ahhhh, I don’t miss highschool or tests or anything ugh. *shudders* and HOW COOL YOU ARE BETAING A BOOK LIKE THAT!! WOOOO.

    But but but, duuuuude, did you say you’ve prepared ALL your posts for September!??! SERIOUSLY??! HOW ORGANISED ARE YOU!??! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So happy that you had a great time in Jamaica! Makes me sad though, that you’re not feeling at home where you are right now. Surround yourself with people who matter and make you feel at home, and the feeling will come back. And I’m here if you ever feel unwell! 🙂
    And one question: HOW did you start beta reading, that’s like THE COOLEST THING ever, damn, I’m so happy for you 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

