Blogger Recognition Award

Blogger-Recognition-Award

Oh, wow. I’m so honored to be nominated by Syc @ The Lit Mermaid & Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books. Their blogs are amazing.

The Rules

  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.

  • Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post. Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).

  • Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.

  • Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!
    Click here to see the original award post @ Edge of Night!

How did Oreos & Books come to be?

I’ve always wanted to do a sort of blogging type thing to share my passion with books on a larger, wider scale. I did some Goodreads reviews for a bit, and cross-posted to Amazon because I didn’t know how to do the aesthetics (graphics) and the like, and wanted to do my research. Because, if you didn’t know this about me, I research everything before I do it, usually. It’s an odd habit.

With the encouragement of a few people, I ended up just diving right in. This blog is also a personal creative project. The concept for it is honestly to just keep on creating and making things like brushstrokes onto a canvas, hard to explain. Blogging requires me to constantly come up with new ideas, and creating content brings me joy because content is art. And I love art, in case you didn’t notice.  I came up with a list of eleven names, and wanted something with Oreos, BUT I didn’t want to choose this on my own. I wanted an outsider’s view so I asked Shelumiel, and I have him to eternally thank for a name I do not regret. I will also take this time to thank not only Dee, James, and Miel, but also Cat, Vee, Maryam & John for their kind words in this blog’s earliest days, as well as Sara, Becky, and Paula for their support. I officially created this blog on May 10th, 2015 at 10:32 am EST.

Instead of giving advice, I’ll just say what I do as if I am directing you, but really it’s an exact description of what I have done (or a few things I have done).

  • Make your own rules for this, but if you so desire it is very easy to look up blogging tips for certain things such as creating graphics, and finding free platforms for which you can create said graphics.
  • Create list of ideas that you can pull from to blog about. Add to this list as you come up with more ideas so that when you lack inspiration, you can go back. I have over 26 ideas to choose from at this very moment. That’s a few months’ worth of posts if I ever run out of inspiration (which will never happen, I utilize my creative side quite frequently).
  • Outline your ideas because writing flows easier. Again, this is MY MINDSET, and what I DO, you can look at this and decide if it is best for you, but I am not personally telling you to follow any of what is listed. Then proceed with a thorough three rounds of editing. Personal spell check, grammar/punctuation, the flow of your writing, and whether any of your nonsense can somehow be manipulated to make sense to the public. Is your vocab TOO SAT (never)?
  • Schedule so you have posts covering a long period of time as you write MORE just in case of emergencies, or when you’re busy in your personal life so that you do not worry about your blog sinking. I always have at least a month’s post in the works or scheduled ahead of time.
  • Participate in the bookish Twitter chats. Twitter is necessary, so if you do not have one and you are planning to blog, I would strongly advise making one. (I personally had a Twitter for a while because I had been in the online book world about 10 months before this blog.) Then, participate in the Twitter chats if you so desire. The Twitter chats are bookish chats between book bloggers, and occasionally any book lover. Usually book bloggers are involved, because they are created by book bloggers. There is an introduction where you can introduce yourself, and your blog link. You then answer questions, and look at other’s answers. This gives you the chance to get to know others in the blogosphere, and let others get to know you. This also leads to a few followers when others are interested in your blog, which they will be, and gives you a chance to quickly find other interesting blogs. If there’s a Twitter chat that I’m aware of, I’m probably there. I’d definitely suggest some common chats such as #RQWN (Random Questions with Nori) which is pretty random, but frequently hosted by Nori over @ Read Write Love 28, on her Twitter which is also @ReadWriteLove28, as well as #WeekendYAParty which is hosted by Jasmine Pearl Reads at @JasmineRaymundo.
  • Blog-hop like nobody’s business. It can be fun, you read a lot of great content. Sometimes you skim because you’tre tired and you just want to comment to keep those relationships with your colleagues strong. Usually, you’ll end up reading full, great content, enjoy yourself, and when they find time, your colleague  will come back to you. (Yes, I do think of this in terms of a workplace although it doesn’t necessarily feel like a job to me.)
  • Make friends with cool people! Honestly, all book people are cool. Maybe you’re like me, and had making friends as a hobby when you were a child because you were just that manipulative, or you’re super shy and adorable; friends are a necessity in being in the book world in general. IT’S FUN. Author friends are so much fun to have, you should talk to authors, and befriend them because they’re witty, funny, and brilliant; I personally have a lot of fun with this, and you will too! Don’t be shy! Bloggers are a bit more complicated to befriend, it may take a bit longer with them, but not impossible! You may not like every blogger you pass by in the blogosphere, but there are a lot of cool ones out there, so find your people! Book lovers in general on social media are a lot of fun, too, and are all so sweet they’ll give you diabetes, in my experience. So whether it’s easier for you to befriend authors, book lovers, or bloggers, or all of the above…making friends makes the process more fun! BEING IN THE ONLINE BOOK WORLD IS SUPPOSED TO BE FUNNNN. Oh, and if you’re new like I am and actually reading this, I’m a very easy person to befriend, all you have to do is talk to me, and it’s basically a done deal, I’m a huge fan of book peopleTwitterGoodreads.
  • Good luck! No one said blogging is easy! Because it sure ain’t, but it’s fun, you get to make wonderful art, make friends, and memories too.

I nominate these skilled, wonderful bloggers which you should all follow:

About The Blogger

wpid-wp-1434116130399.jpeg

Wesaun is a teen book lion. She’s also an art enthusiast: poetry, theater, and fan art, as well as paintings/drawings. She loves to be overenthusiastic over books and authors.

You can find her at her Twitter: @epicbooklover or her Goodreads.
You can also try her business
email:
oreosandbooks70@Gmail.com.

11 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. I loved this so much! I just found your blog through Twitter! All your advice is so incredibly accurate! Making friends and connecting is such a great way to thrive in the blogosphere!
    I just found my new love in Twitter, thanks to book chats hosted by certain book lovers! Its amazing!
    I need to befriend myself more authors… And I love befriending other bloggers and book lovers. They just all get me, like no one I’ve ever met in real life! 😄 xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    Thanks for the nomination, Wesaun!! Your advices (or direction haha) are great, especially the one on the importance of social media and interaction.

    HOW DO YOU SCHEDULE SO FAR IN ADVANCE THOUGH?
    I am usually only one day ahead XDD I AM TERRIBLE.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your advices are damn amazing, I just want to print them up and put them on my wall as not to forget all of those. And damn, ONE MONTH of planning ahead, HOW do you do it?! You have to give me your secret, haha, I’m the worst at scheduling posts!
    Thank you for the nomination! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ohh, this is all quite FABULOUS advice. 😀 I totally agree with making your own rules. *nods* I think blogs can quickly fall apart when they’re trying to dance to all the rules other bloggers have made. JUST DO YOUR OWN THING AND HAVE FUN. Best advice ever, tbh. xD Ohh, and twitter is GREAT. And I also don’t think you’re odd for researching before you start! ME TOO.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thank you, Cait! Coming from you that means a great deal! Yes, definitely! We need individuality, just because someone says this is the way to do things, and they are successful doesn’t mean you have to follow…it’s not like they’re like CEO’s of the blogosphere or anything. xD YAY, something in common!

      Like

Leave a Reply

