Siblinghood of The World Bloggers Award The Siblinghood of The World Bloggers Award

Thank you to Summer @ XingSings & Trisha @ The Bookgasm for the nomination.

The Rules

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  2. Put the Award logo on your blog. (Not doing this because I feel it perpetuates sexism since there obviously aren’t just females, or even males in this community.)
  3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.
  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Nominate blogs.

What book were you “forced” to read in high school but ended up loving?

  • Much Ado About Nothing
  • Romeo & Juliet
  • I am slowly working my way through the rest of Shakespeare’s fabulous work!

One piece of advice you would give to your younger self is…

  • Learn how to schedule your time earlier…it’ll be a pain in the ass to learn later.
  • Do one thing every day that scares you—Eleanor Roosevelt

What is your favorite fairy tale?

Alice In Wonderland. “I’ve believed in as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”

“Have I gone mad?” “I’m afraid so, you’re entirely bonkers..but I’ll tell you a secret, all the best people are.”

It really spoke to me because of the strong female lead, the curiosity, and creativity of Alice. It was something I could relate to. I was a very curious child, and ignored the “Don’t talk to strangers.” rule. I asked a lot of questions no matter how many times people attempted to discourage me, I continued, I simply didn’t care. and because of that I have not lost my irritating curiosity. Talk to me long enough, and I’ll probably ask you something.

What word do you love the sound of?

Here are ten: Peculiar, queer, eccentric, curious, aesthetic, malicious, penultimate, though, original and scintillating.

Here are even more: cognomen, vanguard, dour, books, daunting, joust, vile, harmartia, askance, vast, art, food, wary, cavernous, enamored, photography, palabra, unusual. I love words.

Do you have a nickname? What is it?

Multiple. I do not allow my family members to call me by a nickname, they find that rather prissy, so when they think I’m being arrogant, they’ll call me Miss Wesaun, which is not infrequent, LOL. One of best friend of seven years–I have two of those—called me Wes since we were children, and lastly Dub, which was coined by Nic, one of my newest author friends, she created because she likes to make names out of one syllable, and she got it from the letter W, although that is fairly obvious.

Her book Dear Martin releases January 2017, and she is a debut author, those are my favorites as I am sure you can tell. Dear Martin’s direct synopsis is this from Goodreads: “A contemporary novel about race relations in 21st-century America. It’s told from different perspectives before and after Justyce McAlister, a black teen, is shot by an off-duty police officer.” I believe this book is certainly timely with all the police brutality as of late. Nic is intelligent, wonderful, and witty, and I strongly encourage you to keep an eye out for her, and her novel, THE LADY CAN WRITE Y’ALL. SHE CAN REALLLYYYYY WRITE.

If you were going to write a book, what would the title be and what would it be about?

Title: Jabberwocky

About: Two black queer queens who transform into dragons and fight against other queer clans to get a time bomb of a dragon. That dragon is the Jabberwocky from Lewis Carrol’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, and I will be NaNo-ing it this coming November.

Do you prefer living in the city or countryside? Why?

I love camping upstate, but I prefer the city. Because when I do not feel like thinking or working, I can rush off on transit and feel the rush. The rush of people from place to place. Lives being changed in the midst of everyday details. I can wander and get lost for hours in the midst of blinking billboards, people who jaywalk without looking at whether it is time for them to cross, and to rush along in subways while seeing ballet, music or art as I hurry to the other train I need to catch.

What is your dream job?

Being an editor at Balzer & Bray, or an agent at The Bent Agency. Working with books at all. Paul’s (Paula Stokes) advised me to choose the company/agency that values my contributions as a professional, not necessarily the most prestigious. She’s the best.

What is your favorite scene in your favorite book of 2015 (so far)?

From Simon- the scene during the break when they are at school for play rehearsal, and Simon has his arm around his best friend Abby as they watch people rush down the hallway in carts. Such a great bestie moment.

From Fans of The Impossible Life-when Mira, Sebby and Jeremy hold their first ceremony, and another one but I won’t spoil an unreleased novel.

You have just received a million dollars to spend on your personal library?

Actually, I wouldn’t be spending it on a library. Being logical, I’d probably put 3-5 hundred thou into my savings in case something goes wrong. The rest I would probably invest into a program that pays for international bloggers transportation to BEA. Then, everyone could meet their friends, get ARCs, and nobody would be all sad sulking in their home country. Then there wouldn’t be this GIGANTIC, SAD barrier. There are some people I want to meet so badly. SOOO BADLYYY. *reaches for Maryam*

Trisha’s Questions (I will not be answering them all)

Crammer or ahead of deadline?\

I am usually on schedule. I’ll start as soon as I can, and finish in a timely manner, sometimes early, sometimes on time.

Couch potato or go getter?

No one will do what I desire for me. No one will achieve my goals for me, and I wouldn’t want them to. I can be pretty ruthless/ambitious with my goals, and I crave the creative rush from productivity. I am only satiated once I have reached my high standards, and expectations.  If I want something, I will take it or do anything necessary  to get it, so yes, go getter.

Here are my questions, and yes, I know there are less than 10: 

  1. What do you think is missing in YA?
  2. What are three books that you would rewrite the ending of? Yes, they can be included in a series?
  3. You have the opportunity to meet two of your favorite characters? Who are they, what book are they from, and why do you want to meet them?
  4. What is one common book nerd problem that you always have?
  5. Would you rather have siblings or be an only child, and why?

Everyonehood, yo:

  1. Vee @ Gay YA (they/them)
  2. Cait @ Paper Fury
  3. Ale @ Bookish Unicorn
  4. Keionda @ Keionda Hearts Books
  5. The Night Girl (they/them)
11 thoughts on “Siblinghood of The World Bloggers Award The Siblinghood of The World Bloggers Award

  1. Ooh, yay for the Alice love. I’ve yet to reread Alice in Wonderland (again) because I want to do a retelling sometime soon. AND YES I WOULD TOTALLY READ YOUR NANO NOVEL. It’s sounds fabulous and dragonish and awesome. Congrats on the award ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know if anyone has told you this but I REALLY love the way you write. I can feel your words (if that doesn’t sound weird?) Idk, but I LOVE how motivated you are and it inspires me to chase after my dreams even though there are those that really don’t see your vision and/or may not understand it. So kuddos for you for sticking with your gunctions and being a go getter! 🙂

    Like

  3. Loved your answers. Alice in Wonderland is just so good, I love it! 🙂 and it’s so great that you’re going to participate to nanowrimo, I’m still wondering about it, because I’m failing all the time haha! Your story sounds so good, I’d love to read it ! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The only thing I have to say is: MY GOSH, how can you love Shakespeare? I mean kudos to you; it’s amazing! That guy is brilliant and unique for sure, but I struggled to enjoy his work. Perhaps I’ll have an appreciation for him later.

    And thanks for participating in the award! 🙂

    Like

    • -_- How can I love Shakespeare? LOL, I don’t even know what would be a proper response to that. I can see how some may dislike it, I guess, different preferences and opinions. I suppose I appreciate the prose, and creativity. Maybe you will, but if not, it’s all good. 😀 Thanks for nominating me, again!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    OMG YOU ARE WRITING A WONDERLAND RETELLING? EXCUSE ME WHILE I HUG YOU ADN TELL YOU THAT YOUR PITCH IS AJFKDLSAF JUST ABSOLUTELY EXCITING AND BRILLIANT. *hyperventilates quietly* I’m going to write an AiW retelling someday, but Peter Pan is my baby so it comes first. *flails* I LOVE RETELLINGS SO MUCH. Awk, thanks for the tag. :’) And I totally think that is an epic way to spend your million. hehe. I would probably just spend it all on the books. XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

