The Secret Life Of A Book Blogger Tag

Thank you to Analee @ Book Snacks & Joey @ Thoughts & Afterthoughts for the tag! Follow both of them, pleasssseeee.

How long have you been a blogger?

As of when this is published, 3 months exactly.

At what point do you think you’ll stop?

I’ll keep this going for as long as I possibly can, or feel like it because if you weren’t aware, this is an art project for me, I honestly didn’t do it just for the heck of sharing my love for books; although that was a main reason. So when I feel it’s fulfilled my purpose for me, then yes. But the blog is still rather early in the game, too early to ponder on that.

What is the best thing?

The discussion among the community, Twitter chats, and well done rants and discussion posts. The ideas from this community such as #weneeddiverseblogs and the upcoming #atmybookstore campaign, both by Nicole Brinkley at YA Interrobang. I also love when people randomly tweet at me saying how much they love my blog, how they love my posts, my personality/etc. It’s difficult to evoke more than a brief smirk out of me (which doesn’t last long enough for you to see it as more than a quick twitch), even harder to bring me to laughter, and so much joy comes from being involved in the book blogging community, and the book community, as well.

What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it better?

The stack of outlines I have waiting…it’s a problem…LOL. I use my magical productivity powers to get work done. I write more posts, worsen the problem, and also am happy because MORE CONTENT=MORE ART=ME MORE HAPPY THAN NOT. Also, if I need solace, I’d probably talk to Nic, B, or John. Especially Nic. More flailing about her, later.

How long does it take you to create/find pictures?

Find pictures—2 minutes, max.

Create pictures—30 minutes-45 minutes. I feel it took me 15 minutes to make one like this one, though because when I am looking for a simple design, I can speed through it as I learn my way. I’m also going to start experimenting with other platforms once I get time to do research.

Who is your book crush?

I love villains, and original characters, mainly. Maven from RQ, Warner from Shatter Me, Noah from Mara Dyer, and Mira from Fans of The Impossible Life.

What author would you like to have on your blog?

    • Becky Albertalli (I would die for this woman, love her)
    • Adam Silvera
    • Alex London
    • Kate Scelsa
    • Victoria Aveyard
    • Nic Stone (OMG, PLEASEEEE.)
      • Heidi Heilig (yessssss.)
    • Emily Skrutskie (PLEASSSEE)
    • Brie Spangler
    • Jeff Garvin
    • Traci Chee
    • Ki-Wing Merling
    • Becky Allen
    • SO MANY FAC16 AUTHORS BECAUSE THEY ARE THE BEST, AND I WANT THEIR BOOKS LAST WEEK.

What do you wear when you write your blog posts?

  • I am currently wearing a shirt that says Here For The Fun, a bracelet from Mindy McGinnis for Christmas which I wear everyday, and plaid shorts. Back in New York, I tend to wear hemp pants/leggings with a sheer muscle tee that says Out Of Your League or pajama pants and tshirts that say stuff like Hakuna Matata, and probably another accessory with some quote on it or paint such as a snapback. I need something that makes me feel in a creative atmosphere, or zone.

How long does it take you to prepare?

Okay. A post can take weeks to get done from idea to outlining to finally typing and editing. Yep, weeks.

Stage 1: Outlining. Writing outlines can take about 10 minutes to 30 minutes.
Stage 2: Typing. I may not get to this for a week or more. It should take about 20 minutes.
Stage 3: Editing. It could take 50 minutes to 1 hour or more. I do three rounds of edits. First round of editing is usually looking over spelling. Second round of editing includes grammar and punctuation. Third round of editing means checking for flow, whether it makes sense, and highlighting/emboldening/italics as well as inserting links/testing links to make sure they aren’t broken.
Stage 4: Scheduling or publish immediately. Scheduling is more common because that’s how I operate, publishing immediately tends to be for spontaneous posts.

How do you feel about the book blogger community?

I love everything about it, and everyone! So many creative, witty, funny and interesting people in this community. I even found content I had been wanting for years at this blogΒ which is now one of my top favorites. * air hugs everyone*

What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?

Success has a different definition for everyone, so this question is pointless. But, I personally follow blogs with an interesting personality, and original, interesting content.

I don’t feel like tagging anyone, so I’m just going to tell you some of my favorite blogs that I want you to follow. The blogs that I squeal and clap at with every new post in my email, although I truly adore all the blogs I follow, I just want to shoutout these specifically because the people that run them are SO EXCEPTIONALLY BRILLIANT, AND ASTOUNDINGLY TALENTED.

1. Gay YA: ILOVETHISBLOGOMGBIGFANOFVEENITAETCWORK
2. Thoughts & Afterthoughts: These rants, the branding, YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.
3. Paper Fury: Original, fabulous, and CAIT.
4. Bookish & Awesome: ILOVETHEARTANDAWESOMEHANDRITINGOMG
5. Drizzle & Hurricane Books: MARIEEEEEEEEE. Enough said? Enough said. She’s nice, and fabulous, and a brilliant blogger, and lots of fun. follow her.
ALSO READ AT MIDNIGHT. OH MY GOD. AENTEE’S GRAPHICSSS. HER REVIEWSSSSSSS.
Also, Read Write Love 28: Because Nori is fabulous, and you will enjoy her blog.
CAN’T FORGET: John Hansen on the now defunct Teens Can Write Too after four years of running, (you can still look through the archives of its glory) AND his personal Tumblr/blog where you can always find brilliant, profound, and astute posts, and I would be happy to link you to my personal favorite. Later.

About The Blogger

wpid-wp-1434116130399.jpeg

Wesaun is a teen book lion. She’s also an art enthusiast: poetry, theater, and fan art, as well as paintings/drawings. She loves to be overenthusiastic over books and authors.

You can find her at her Twitter: @epicbooklover.
You can also try her business
email:
oreosandbooks70@Gmail.com.

4 thoughts on “The Secret Life Of A Book Blogger Tag

  1. I didn’t know you had read the Mara Dyer series!! What did you think about it? Noah is one of my book crushs, too, he’s so…Noah, haha! πŸ™‚
    And thank you THANK YOU SO MUCH, I’m so flattered to be in your favorite blogs, you’re so sweet ❀ and let me tell you, I'm so happy you started blogging, and hope you'll continue for a long, LONG time! πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

