The Saturday Oreo #4: When “Fans” Are Disrespectful To Authors

oreo-sat-jpg

Ugh. This type of thing makes me so indignant. There were a few incidents when readers were disrespectful to some of my faves, and I was angry, but I let it go. Then, I saw a reader attack an author in regards to their sexuality, and then I decided a post was requisite. The question I will be pondering as I write to you today is, “Why are some readers disrespectful to authors?” and discussing common instances of this unnecessary hatred.

Fans Attacking Authors Because of Ships

Do I have ships? Of course I do. But, I’ve always seen it as a bit of a joke. Or at least, I thought it was a universal joke in the book world. When I choose a ship, sometimes it is because I like a particular love interest with the main character; but usually it is because I like certain aspects of that character, although I wouldn’t necessarily pair them with the MC. But, then again, if they do end up with the MC, and I didn’t want them to, I am not affected. I may be like, “Oh. It’s too bad that happened. It shouldn’t have, in my opinion.” but I’m not like, “HOW DARE THE AUTHOR RUIN MY SHIP FANTASY! THEY ARE WORTHLESS, MEAN, AND STUPID. THEY MUST OBEY ME. I AM THEIR RULER.” Not only is that reaction petulant, it is also hurtful to the author.

Although it’s never “just a book”, it is indeed fictitious. Books are art, and although everyone has different opinions and interpretations of the art, there is no need to feel betrayed because the original artist’s interpretation differs from your own. I find it appalling that people actually attack authors because of their creation. An author’s success shouldn’t mean increasing disrespect, hatred, and/or threats to their personal safety. Nor should a person ever ever eveeeerrrr think it is okay to claim something untrue relating to another person’s sexuality. That is not only too personal, but also ignorant to think you are so entitled to your opinion, that you can cross whatever boundary you please.

Fans Attacking Authors Because Of Their Characters

You can attack an author either subtly, or aggressively. Whether you do it intentionally or not does not mean you did not attack this author.(I should say this a little louder for the people in the back). It does not mean you tell that author that that is not the way you are saying it. You don’t defend yourself which then is an attempt to belittle the author’s emotion, as if they are being silly. PERIOD.

We can all speak up against this injustice. We can treat these creators with the respect they deserve. Maybe not all of us can be friends, but it never hurts to do your best to be kind to an author you truly like.

Next week, I plan to discuss when authors attack readers to make it even, (and also because this is an issue),and to get both sides of the situation. Also, because no matter how controversial it will look, I have different opinions for each side of this situation.

What are ways you are kind to an author you like? Have you ever been unkind, unintentionally or not so? Do you agree with what I said, or disagree? Have you ever experienced disrespect from an author (not naming names)? How did you respond? What are some of your favorite authors? Let us discuss your thoughts on any of these questions, or this post in general below!

About The Blogger

wpid-wp-1433900336759.jpeg

Wesaun is a teen book lion. She’s also an art enthusiast: poetry, theater, and fan art, as well as paintings/drawings. She loves to be overenthusiastic over books and authors.

You can find her at her Twitter: @epicbooklover.
You can also try her business
email:
oreosandbooks70@Gmail.com.

21 thoughts on “The Saturday Oreo #4: When “Fans” Are Disrespectful To Authors

  1. Prior to blogging, I was just a fan account online, you know, stalking all of my favourite authors. But I never got to the point wherein I would harass the author because of their books. You’re right about how books are art = it’s all in the interpretation. And some readers, well, they just can’t seem to reel in their very strong interpretations. Kudos to you for raising awareness on this issue!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The thing about authors is that they’re putting their books out there for criticism. That does not, however, mean that it’s okay to hurt authors! They are, in their own ways, artists and thus, should be given the same amount of respect.
    I’ve never actually heard of an author getting hate because of a ship. I always thought it was their choice to make their characters do what they believe is right. That sounds like an even dumber reason to attack an author though.
    As for me, I usually support authors I like by following their author blogs and twitters. Sometimes I’ll find fanaccounts that support the author. Obviously, I read and try my best to review the book!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I understand that some people get carried away, when they read a book, and then get mad because their favorite characters don’t end up together. When that happens for me, I get upset, sure. But I always remember that, even if us, readers, have the books in our hands, it’s the writer’s work. It’s their story, and if they saw two characters belonging together, then that’s it. Afterwards, when the story is over, we, as readers, can always imagine a following of events where our favorites end up together. Sadly, I don’t think every reader takes the time to imagine that, and they take out their anger to the author. This is a bit unfair, to be honest, and even if it’s upsetting, we should give them respect for their work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been pretty harsh to authors in some of my reviews, but I try to keep my criticisms relevant to the book. Also, I don’t search out the authors and criticize them to their faces. That’s just rude, and kind of mean, and it doesn’t do a bit of good, even if you think the book was the worst you’ve ever read; it’s already been published, so we, as readers, just have to live with the final product. (This is why reviews aren’t for authors. They’re for readers, so we can help other readers make decisions about whether or not to read a particular book.)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahh, I completely agree with the sentiments you expressed. I feel like being a blogger it’s really opened my eyes how negative or even hateful some people can be. People are, of course, entitled to have opinions but it’s another thing to bash an author or express dislike in a rude, discouraging way. This really need to be addressed, great post, Wesaun!

    Oh and I like the rainbow oreo banner!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I don’t get the ship one, honestly. Like, books belong to the readers so if they want to imagine ships, that’s their business. But it’s the author writing the book so why the hate towards ships that aren’t what some readers want it to be.

    As for being rude about characters. I don’t know how to feel about that. I’m split straight the middle. The thing I’ve seen is that while authors deserve respect, some of what they say is NOT respectful and people took offense. I’m not saying that the readers are right because they aren’t. Being rude isn’t fine to anyone – on both sides. But the thing is that if an author writes a character in a way that will be offensive to a marginalized group of people, attack is BOUND to happen. With the amount of tension there is in the world right now, people are waiting to jump at any moment. And it sucks.

    Like

  7. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ah, this is such an important topic. I absolutely hate and loathe how cruel people can be…and how…inhuman! ??? I think sometimes the internet makes people too brave and it’s so easy to go be aggressive and attack without any “real” consequences. Gah. It’s so wrong. I know authors can be JUST as cruel, but tbh, it’s hard to say “authors are getting back at readers” because it’s usually different authors who get attacked vs the ones that attack. If you know what I mean? BUT YEAH. It’s so messy.

    I saw someone say the other day that maybe it’s getting particularly worse because in the past readers haven’t HAD this kind of connection with authors before. I mean, authors used to be mystical creatures! Now they’re online, super easy to contact, and do tons of physical press stuff. So yeah. 😦 I love talking to authors though and it makes me cry that the haters spoil this.

    Also. I HAVE HAD SHIPS SUNK. I have ranted in reviews. Do I think the author was wrong?? BAHHAH. no. I am wrong. I always think the author did what the book needed and what they believed in and kinda think they are the right ones when it comes to THEIR art. 😉 XD

    I LOVED THIS POST A LOT. I’M GONNA SHARE IT NOW.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    Great topic! People really can be quite callous online. I feel bad just writing a bad review, I can’t believe some people have to audacity to tweet negative, let alone outright rude messages to authors online. Twitter is both such a blessing and a curse for allowing the public to have instant and convenient access to public figures. It’s one thing to be so passionate about a book, but another to harass another human being because you didn’t get the tale you want. Even if there are times when the author should face constructive criticism, I think people should take it to more private avenues rather than vent directly at them in public space. Verbal abuse is not OK in both online and IRL! Love this discussion!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ALL THE HEART EMOJIES!!! YES, exactly. I saw someone be rude to one of my top faves, and I WAS SOOO MAD. Just if a book doesn’t go your way, c’est la vie, not I SHALL ATTACK YOU, ENEMY!!! Like, Wut? It tarnishes the good things in this community. Thank you so much for stopping by. MORE HEART EMOJIES!

      Like

  9. Many of the reasons here point me towards the recent outcry regarding that Holocaust Romance book (For Such a Time) backed by RWA. Now I’m not familiar with the book, the organization, or really the extensive hate the book has received (would people even care this much if it wasn’t backed by RWA and was just some random book?).

    Where is the line drawn with the “controversial” table topics being presented in fiction? Because it would seem that when you attack the contents there-in, it’s [basically] an assault on the author. And for this specific case, an assault on the integrity of its supporters. Right or wrong, it’s the same damn shit under a different microscope.

    But the raging ire towards the [mis]representation of the inspired [historical] content or even the portrayal of characters seems to eclipse it all and disables that conversation from being heard (even if it’s not one that people enjoy hearing).

    Ah, this is getting incoherent (and I hope it’s not reading as though I support what has historically happened or this book). I’m just trying to open some perspective.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I promise I totally wasn’t all: “The fuck?! Wesaun, don’t judge himmmm, you don’t even know him like thattt.”

      I feel almost guilty agreeing with you, because B ( Becky Albertalli, obviously ) and Dee are Jewish, and some of my closest friends in the book world butttt your perspective had me like, “JOEY. JOEY. YES, JOEY. YES.” I think the current perspective is that, you know, it’s not right for this to be happening and we cannot accept this misrepresentation. Surely, you have seen what has happened in result of misrepresentations and authors before (re: Tommy Wallach, although that’s a slightly different issue) but I totally see where you are coming from. A lot of people are attacking this author based on her religion, and such, and like you said, although it is important to stand up against wrongful misrepresentation, she is still being attacked. I do, being biased, emphatically feel the pain of my friends but I’m sitting here like, “Damn. Wow.” It is. I personally would not reccomendation you saying something like this on a public platform (post, tweet) lest you are ready to be torn down, but I’m so so glad for this comment. It’s not incoherent, at all.
      Giddy to see on another post in one day, and I love long comments, so YAAY. Thanks for stopping by. *LARGEST SMILE OF ALL THE SMILES*

      Like

  10. When I write a review I sometimes worry I am attacking or being mean. If I write “such and such phrase” was over-used, is that mean, critical, or just something that annoyed me? I often use IMHO in these situations. It’s hard to criticize, positively or negatively, without mentioning style, yet it seems people only care if it’s negative. I’ve also mentioned the depth of research evident in a book, both positive and negative. I don’t think these are personal attacks, although it can imply a certain disregard on the author’s part if the research is inaccurate or weak.t
    Deliberately attacking on a personal basis or going after an author because of the overall arc of a storyline is just crazy. Isn’t that what Misery was all about?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

