The Reading Habits Tag

Thanks so much to Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts for the tag. If you don’t follow him already, please click away and do that NOW. You can thank me later.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I prefer my bed. It doesn’t make me tired, and I just like to be comfortable while reading. I also like sitting on verandas, balconies, and porches at places that are not my own.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I have a bag of Forever 21 tags and movie tickets. I don’t lose bookmarks and lately have taken to using the signed bookmarks that were given to me. I use bookmarks according to the content of the novel. (sometimes the cover) Gory? Dorothy Must Die personalized bookmark. Thriller? Liars Inc., bookmark LGBTQ+? Simon personalized bookmark. Deep, beautiful and moving contemporary? Every Last Word bookmark. Apocalyptic/sci fi? Well, we’ve reached the Not A drop To Drink bookmark.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

I must stop after a chapter. It’s painful for me to stop at the best part or a thrilling part of the chapter. Commute doesn’t affect me with this one. I’ve missed a stop a few times. Nowadays, I tend to stumble out while reading.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Oh, yeah. Pretty much every meal. I like to drink herbal tea, or hot cocoa. Sometimes some fruit. If it’s getting really good, I’ll make popcorn. I did this with Red Queen. I don’t tend to eat/drink much while reading during the evening, besides dinner. I have missed meals because of reading, though.

Multitasking TV or music?

TV is just distracting to me for some reason. Distracting isn’t the word, though…I can still immerse myself into the novel, I just find it annoying with TV in the background. Music, though? Definitely, I tend to listen to the arranged playlists for the novels to really get the movie feel. It doesn’t bother me.

One book at a time or several at once?

I used to do several when I was younger, and I still can. However, I personally prefer to focus on one at a time.

Reading at home or everywhere?

Some children bring around teddy bears, some blankets, I brought around books. I rarely forget to bring around a book when going out, and the one time I did for two days of school was torture. Every open second available in an easy class, walking down the stairs, rushing through hallways and on the streets, jaywalking across the street–you name it, I do it while reading.

Reading out loud or silently?

Out loud for studying, silently for leisure.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I have, accidentally. If a part of the book is boring me to tears, I will just DNF.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I hate breaking spines. I open books very, very slowly so as not to break the spines. Seeing broken spines disgusts me or brings me pain. Poor paperbacks. i will protect you.

Do you write in your books?

HAHAHAHAHA. Is this a joke? Of course not! I get a small pen mark/ pencil mark in my books, and I feel terrible. It’s like blasphemy. I use post-its for notes and/or write down notes in a section of my blogging notebook. My blogging notebook is a huge, blue five-sectioned notebook where I keep ideas, outlines, and review notes. The only book I can comfortably write in or highlight is my Bible (which has a broken spine) ironically.

I tag these bloggers. Ignore me if you did it already!

20 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Tag

  1. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    I buy a shit load of bookmarks but never seem to use them haha, then again I mainly read on a Kindle.

    I have never written on any books either, not even my textbooks! It seems sacrilegious.

    Great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t bought a bookmarks yet, but I want to buy a mustache once I saw at B&N. Next time. So far, I’ve either been gifted bookmarks or picked up the free ones from the library at school or the public. I REALLY WANT TO BUY SOME COOL BOOKMARKS, or even a cool tote. I feel you! I see writing in textbooks, and I’m just shaking my head. Thanks for stopping by, Aentee. How do you pronounce that by the way? (A and T? Or Ain-tea?)

      Like

      • aentee @ read at midnight says:

        It’s pronounced a-en-tee. It’s basically a phonetic spelling of my IRL initials ANT haha.

        Like

  2. I always have a book with me too! Or, more specifically, my ereader. 🙂 I bring it with me basically everywhere. And I feel so bad for my paperbacks! Their spines always break so easily, even if I took the utmost care with them. 😦 Anyway, great answers, I found that we have lots in common! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Okay, but I just admire you 10000% before of your bookmarks. THAT IS SO CLEVER AND VERY WONDERFUL!!! I am a notorious bookmark-loser. I lose them. My dog eats them. And half the time I’m using, like, an old docket to mark my place (and I can’t count how many times I use my iPod as a bookmark. >_<) I do have a few creepish ones from Book Depository and they're my faovurites. hehe. BUT STILL. Coordinating books and bookmarks is epic.
    Ahem.
    I hate breaking spines too!!
    And I only ever read several books at once on different mediums. Like I’ll listen to an audio AND read a physical book, because they don’t get messed up in my head. But reading two physical books at once? NOPE. Not fun. xD

    Liked by 2 people

    • *beams* Thanks!
      I’ve used my phone as a bookmark because I was lazy (I keep them all in the original packaging, rather than having them hang out everywhere because then my mum would accidentally throw them away), and have freaked out over where my phone is, I wonder if this happens to you?
      Oh, that’s brilliant. I’d probably be able to do that better if I had audiobooks. Then, I’d probably listen to my e-ARCs (if that was a thing), and read the books on my TBR. Alas 😦
      I always end up putting one down, and sticking with one anyway and the info might get a

      bit cloudy depending on genre. Thanks for stopping by, Cait!

      Like

  4. I love how you have personalized bookmarks for every kind of book you read- it’s a great idea! A lot of the time I’ll read until too late so I’ll be in a hurry and end up having to use a piece of paper for a bookmark. I also can’t stop anywhere but a chapter unless it’s a book I’m really not enjoying at all. There are those annoying ones that you’re like “Okay. Definitely ending after the next chapter- I am SO bored..” And then it leaves off on a cliffhanger and you have to continue on.. only for it to get boring again. I’ll stop off-chapter for those types.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

