#TopTenTuesday: Hyped Books I’ve Never Read or DNF’d

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish.
* The asterisks over words are references.
*DNF (verb)—Did not finish; to not be able to continue a novel or series for reasons of disgust, disinterest, or simply being a busy individual.*

1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (DNF)

I read two chapters of this last October. Due to the TBR; and sheer boredom—I DNF’d. I may pick it up someday because I love a good villain but for the next few years, I’ll be focusing on cutting down the TBR. You know how that goes.

2. Everything that’s written by Cassandra Clare

The concept of demons and demon hunters was not entertaining? Underworld just seems very…YAWN to me? Also, my imagination is vivid and therefore I do not read certain types of things. It’s not hard to explain; but not all that interesting.

3. Paper Towns by John Green (DNF)

I had read Looking For Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, The Fault in Our Stars, and…blimey*, am I missing one? Paper Towns was just JG’s off book. Almost every author will have a book where they were just not on their game. You know this if you have read one author consistently.

This is definitely John’s. Some may disagree and choose any of the others as his off. For me, it was hands down Paper Towns.

I mean, come on…it was a repeat of all the other stories just with less wit and originality. I dropped it in disgust, shaking my head at the 18th chapter. I simply couldn’t continue. If you liked it and it means alot to you, that’s aca-mazing*! Fantastic for you! It’s just after you read a bunch of JG’s novels. The last one you read available to you will probably suck.

4. A Song of Ice and Fire series aka Game of Thrones series by G.R.R Martin

I don’t watch the show, either. I actually cut off my Starz subscription a few years back, so that’s the main reason. Also—an author dying before finishing the series? Hahaha, no.  I could never live with a series literally never being finished.   Fanfic and my own imagination wouldn’t satiate my curiosity of how the actual creator would complete it. Besides, those books are quite bulky and time consuming, aren’t they? I won’t read anything longer than 650 pages.

5. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I’ve never really liked classics, Shakespeare excluded. I will probably end up reading this when the TBR is cut down; so maybe 2-3 years from now? You can hold me to that, if you so desire.

6. The Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner (DNF)

Actually, I did read the first two novels, and enjoyed them. There was an incident with me obtaining the conclusion; and it being returned to the public library instead of the school.
By the time I finally got my paws on it…I lost interest. I will most likely never finish the series. I might binge watch the movies in a few years, though.

7. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

This did pique my curiosity. But, alas, I have already seen the concept in We Were Liars.

8. LOTR by J.R.R Tolkien

The TBR…and it doesn’t pique my interest all that much? I never looked into it. I have taken a liking to Gollum’s Song, though. It was on the official Red Queen playlist; and it just matched the scene so perfectly. It also just sort of struck a chord in me for Reasons.

9. Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling

I was forbidden to read this as a child. And, alas, the TBR. I do not like reading books that are much over 650 pages (Gone series excluded because that was some top notch stuff). I just don’t have the time anymore.

10. Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold (DNF)

I tried this but just had to DNF last summer as well. It was too graphic for my vivid imagination to manage. This one is most definitely not a subway read. Take it from someone who knows from experience. *shudders*

 

Those are some of the hyped novels/series that I haven’t (and most likely never will) read. What are some of yours? Or just link to your TTT in the comments below and I’ll blog hop on over!

 

 

2 thoughts on “#TopTenTuesday: Hyped Books I’ve Never Read or DNF’d

  1. I have to confess that I haven’t read TKAM either. I do like classics though. I’m actually hoping to read it this summer, especially since Shelumiel and so many others love it so much. Plus, it has a theme I’ve continuously loved reading and would like to learn more about. And oh, The Lovely Bones. I think I may have checked that out the library a few summers ago but ended up never cracking it open… And I’m a little horrified that you haven’t picked Cassandra Clare’s work yet. But it’s okay, I do understand her books aren’t for everyone. It’s cool that you can recognize what books aren’t for you. I like to think I have particular genres I reach for, but I tend to read everything (except erotica) so it’s hard gauging what will be boring for me. Oh and I just want to add that a lot of my fictional crushes have come from CC books. If you every decide to pick up her books go with TID trilogy instead of TMI. That series has better world building, I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

