June Wrapup

Warning: This is a recap of the month so it may be a little long. The introduction will always be life stuff. Feel free to skip to the bolded sections you’re interested in.

What Happened This Month

   It’s been an excellent month. #LOVEWINS, you guys! Anyway, finally. Some justice in this country. It’s taken far too long. This should’ve happened 10 years ago shortly after Canada…before that even. ANYWAY. This month, I met three of my  most anticipated authors: Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, and Alex London. They are fabulousss.

This month, I saw my name in the acknowledgements of ILF by Sara Raasch, thanks to Margot Wood; and freaked the freak out. I LOVE Sara.

That might not come across because I’m determined to make you feel a deep desire to purchase MHTN or Simon. Queer YA is still kinda…rare, folks.

ANYWAY. I love Sara Raasch, she was the first author friend that I had and the first that I vigorously supported before her debut Snow Like Ashes came out. The reason there’s not a review is because I wrote her a 3-part analysis to her instead, which is crazy long.

Sara’s book Snow Like Ashes has a solid plot, great development, fantastic writing, evokes emotion from the readers and wonderful battle scenes. While it may not be original to all, it was to me—and I loved how she put it all together. So, please, please check Snow Like Ashes out! You really won’t regret it and please add her amazing sequel Ice Like Fire to your TBR. Not because of me being in there, that’s beside the point. Do it because Sara is truly a kind, sassy, and hilarious badass. I want all of you to get a chance to see that, too.

image

Announcements

NEW YORKERS: Adam Silvera, Becky Albertalli, Dahlia Adler and friends will be in NYC July 9th and 12th! More details in the picture below! Don’t miss them, seriously!

wpid-wp-1435669973376.png

Top Ten Tuesdays

Books That Should Be Turned into TV Shows/ Movies

Summer TBR

Best Books So Far in 2015

Great Music I Listened To

-Queen of Peace by Florence and The Machine
-Blackbird by The Beatles
-Gypsy Heart by Suzanne Vega
-Asleep by The Smiths
-Scarborough Fair by Simon & Garfunkel
-Landslide by Fleetwood Mac
-Riptide by Vance Joy
-Elastic Heart by Sia

Reviews & Books I Read (Terrible reading month because exams; but I’m happy I read at all.)

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Mosquitoland by David Arnold

The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Tags

The Courtship Book Tag

The Coffee Book Tag (except…I drink herbal tea)

Oreos

In which I talk about meeting Adam Silvera, Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera and Margot Wood.

That time I decided to angrily word vomit about the assuming of sexualities and how it harms people already in those minorities. Then posted it on the blog.

Here I randomly, and angrily rant about homophobia, racism, and sexism.

My book haul for this month.

I discuss the importance of spreading diversity in the book community and promote #weneeddiverseblogs.

Here is what I think makes us human.

Most importantly, the pride recs. In this post, I gave blogs, blog posts, YouTube Channels, and videos you can watch to increase your knowledge on “fuzzy” areas on anything in the LGBTQ+ community. Don’t know what a skoliosexual is ? Check it out.

Favorite Posts In The Blogosphere

Slow Walkers in Narrow Hallways Aren’t The Same As Aisle Readers from Thoughts & Afterthoughts.
I may have read this 3 times. Too relatable.

Miguel’s Playlist (1) from The Quirky Reader As soon as Florence and The Machine was included, it was making the wrapup. LISTEN TO QUEEN OF PEACE, PLEASEEE!

How Blogging Helped Shape The Reader I Am Today from Bookish & Awesome A heartwarming piece…I always love reading and seeing how far a non reader has come to become a reader.

Rachel discussing freedom of speech in the book world was on point with this post.
Still not over it. (The post, not the subject matter of the post. You’ll get what I mean when you read it.)

So, that’s a little bit for the first wrapup on Oreos & Books. How was your month? Anything exciting happening? Any books you’ve been dying to drop on your front door? Links to your wrapups?(If I follow you, I’ll get around to commenting and reading in a few days) Best book you read this month? Let me know the answer to any of these questions, below!

One thought on “June Wrapup

  1. I love how your month went, Wesaun! Mine was a little annoying since I finally finished school and graduated (basically) but overall pretty average. I didn’t read aaanything this month so I’m feeling a little down about that, but I’m going to try make July better 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

