What Does It Mean To Be Human?

I first heard this in a Nerdfighters video which was quite introspective; and John Green concluded by inquiring “What does it mean to be human?”. As soon as the video ended, I felt compelled to write a post answering this. It’s such an interesting question to ponder. You can watch the Nerdfighter video here.

Part of being human is having a passion. The passion that we adopt, the things we like; and the things we abhor is what makes us who we are. It is what separates existing and living.

“What matters to you defines your mattering.”-An Abundance of Katherines. This is not to be confused with people thinking your passion sucks. Just because they do think that way doesn’t lessen your importance. There comes a time when the thoughts of others about you are irrelevant.

You can’t let their opinions (influenced by the small window they see of you) impact you as a whole. People don’t know you as well as they think they do. It’s all an illusion if you think about it.

Does anyone really know anyone? Sometimes I wonder: Do I really know one of my best friends of 7 years any better than an author friend from only 10 months ago ? But I digress.

I feel that all the things we desire, and the things that bring smiles to our faces are the things that truly create us. We all start out as empty canvasses in the beginning. As we grow and change, we are constantly painting and rewriting the art that we are. Over and over again.

What do you think makes us human, in short? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

About The Blogger

image

Wesaun is a teen book lion. She’s also an art enthusiast: poetry, theater, and fan art, as well as paintings/drawings. She loves to be overenthusiastic over books and authors.

You can find her at her Twitter: @epicbooklover.
You can also try her business
email:
oreosandbooks70@Gmail.com.

7 thoughts on “What Does It Mean To Be Human?

  1. This is such an amazing post! ❤ I'm in a hurry but I will make sure to come back and tell you my thoughts about it after work. And you reminded me, I definitely need to catch up on all the Nerdfighter videos I've missed, I'm so late, I feel ashamed!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I totally agree with you on having a passion, and fighting for it every single day, it’s what makes us feel alive! It gets hard sometimes, because other people tend to be judgmental about some passions, and that sucks. But yes, at some point, you need to live for yourself, and not others, and do what you love, to really live, and not just survive!
        And jeez, I recognize myself so much in everything you just wrote. I have to say yes, you disgressed a bit, but that’s just so true. To which amount can you really, really know a person? It’s so hard to get to know someone, when you first meet, but it’s even harder to fully understand and know everyone, deep down. But that’s the beauty of it, and what makes me feel human, I think : the relationship I have with others, and how they can built up to friendship and love 🙂
        Wow, I think I digress too a little bit, I apologize for the long comment, this post just inspires me so much to talk!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow. Just. Wow—this has so much depth to it. I definitely DO NOT mind long comments. It’s great to see your thoughts just so fully formed and really get your opinion. It makes all the hard work that goes into a post worth it when one leaves a thoughtful comment.

        Relationships are definitely something that humanizes us, I feel. That’s the beauty of friendships. Internet or IRL, they’re all legit, you know? I loved reading your comment, thank you so much for taking the time to write it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I feel the same way! 🙂 and I have to say, it’s so great to find another nerdfighter having a book blog 🙂 You’re so welcome, I’m looking forward to other great and thoughtful posts like this one! ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

