#TopTenTuesday: Books on My Summer TBR

It’s another lovely Tuesday!
This Tuesday is lovely because it’s my first Tuesday as a free woman!
AP HELL (high school) IS OUT FOR THE SUMMER!

-No more dealing with racist comments
-No more dealing with bus drivers trying to rush past my stop so I have to wait another hour to get home
-No more hearing homophobic comments
-No more disrespectful teachers
-No huge pile of work in which half of it won’t even count for life or college.
-Time to read at my actual reading speed.

*takes a sip of lemonade*
*leans back*
I am in heaven, folks.

1. Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy (ARC)

image

I yearned for this ARC like Iย  yearned for breath in a hot classroom. So when HC (Harper Collins) sent me it—a lรก Margot Wood; I was like a six year old in a candy shop.

I’ve been looking at it longingly on my dresser. School is finally over; now just a few more tests and I can finally sit down to read this.

2. Fans of The Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa (ARC)

image

I like books with road trips. I like books with characters dealing with mental illness. I like books with LGBT+ individuals. I am an art nerd. I like books with art nerds.

ALL IN ONE BOOK??? AND THAT COVER? AND THE PREMISE? I HAD TO HAVE IT.

3. This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzie Lee (ARC)

image

This one I had heard about briefly; but wasn’t too interested until looking it over when I received it.

Frankenstein retelling? Never read any of that.
Sibling relationship? Those are mighty rare.
Mystery? Oooh. I’m listening.
And I am not a fan of historical fiction; but then again I’ve never tried it. Maybe Mackenzie’s debut will change my mind.

4. Inked by Eric Smith

image

I received this from the author May 16; but with finals and preparing for state exams—I haven’t gotten to it. I’m intrigued by the magical aspect.

5. The Heir by Kiera Cass

image

I bought this at the launch (Silvera’s)
I’ve been wanting to read it a while; and also I did like the Selection series for some reason.

6. More Than This by Patrick Ness

image

I need more weird books in my life. I’ve been trying to read this for about a year.

7. Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

image

I loved Cruel Beauty! I finished most of it in a 50 minute plane ride to VA Beach last summer;.and I’m excited to see what’s next.

8. Challenger Deep by Neil Schusterman

image

I like books with mental illness but the illustrations and trailer drew me to this novel.

9. Great by Sara Benincasa

image

I’ve been trying to read this for a year, as well. It seems very We Were Liars and I loved We Were Liars last summer.

10. The Retribution of Mara Dyer

image

I’ve had this since November and I have loved this series since it began. I love unreliable narrators!

ALL THE ARCS + PAPERBACKS IN MY INCOMING BOX NEXT WEEK. Thank you, Dee!

I’m also due to receive Hollywood Witch Hunter (ARC) for review; but if I don’t get it before I leave for vacation I probably won’t get to it.

Go follow Deanna Schwartz (@deeschwazy) on Twitter! She’s the sweetest!

About The Blogger

image

Wesaun is a teen book lion. She’s also an art enthusiast: poetry, theater, and fan art, as well as paintings/drawings. She loves to be overenthusiastic over books and authors.

You can find her at her Twitter: @epicbooklover.
You can also try her business
email:
oreosandbooks70@Gmail.com.

16 thoughts on “#TopTenTuesday: Books on My Summer TBR

    • Thank you for all your lovely compliments; and taking the time to comment. I tried my best with the pictures. You’re so sweet! You should try it; maybe you have a talent for photography! What book are you most looking forward to reading this summer?

      Like

      • Well this book is set to release in September, I think?? But it’s called Sweet tempation. (Have you heard of the Sweet series by Wendy Higgens?) Gosh! If not, giirrlll you need to!โ™ก and I’m going to try to take pictures of my books (but they’re on my Kindle.) Soooo. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ yeah. Hehe

        Like

      • I have heard of Sweet Temptation, I think. Although I haven’t read it or anything. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, that sucks. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I tried to follow you using the app but I can’t; so I’ll see if it works on my computer later. Thanks for the follow! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

      • Of course girl! Your post really made me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚ sorry for the complications… maybe you could try following by email? It’s in my sidebar. Let me know if it works! Can’t wait to stop by again!โ™ก

        Like

  1. Man, I know that feel. I’m pretty sure that when I was finally done with all that HS and AP nonsense for good I threw a party. You’re FREE!

    School (college) is out for me too so I’m just devouring books like crazy. Your list looks pretty interesting–I don’t know any of those books (but I stick to SFF genre-wise) but several look like books I might want to pick up (the covers, especially. I’m a sucker for that kind of minimalist cover). I should try out contemporary fic more often!

    Like

    • Science Fan Fiction—is that what SFF genre stands for? I don’t do contemporary often; but if it’s got a good plot, is about something I support and has the type of characters I like or can relate to—I’ll pick it up or request it. I want to devour books too; but I have a few state tests to take before I can be free. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Thanks for commenting. I recognize you from Twitter!

      Like

Leave a Reply

