The Courtship Book Tag

Thanks for tagging me, Joey @ Thoughts And Afterthoughts.

Phase 1: Initial Attraction:  a book that you bought because of the cover

I don’t buy books solely on the cover alone. That would be a waste of money. The cover was a factor in me buying or borrowing from the library, though. BUTTTT…it depends on what I think of the synopsis—so this was a bit difficult.

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

image

Is that cover not breathtaking?

I really like the whole multiverse/ parallel universe sci-fi scene. I haven’t read a lot of books nor watched a lot of movies. But, as soon as I saw it. YASSS.

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

image

Is this cover not badass? I saw an animation of this cover, and OHHH YES. I just thought the dark theme of this cover fit the characters and story perfectly; and it was alluring.

Phase 2: First Impressions: a book that you got because of the summary

*The Jewel by Amy Ewing

image

Phase 3: Sweet Talk: a book with great writing

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

“If you could read my mind, you wouldn’t be smiling.
“We’ll miss you tonight.
No you won’t.
We love you.
No you don’t.”

“Don’t think. Go.”

There was so many times in this book when I was like, “Damn. You better preach.” It was just so good. It was quotable, well written and so powerful.

Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

“People really are like houses with vast rooms with tiny windows, and maybe that’s a good thing; the way we never stop surprising each other.”

You already know that I think Becky Albertalli’s writing is a-freaking-mazing. Quoting someone on Twitter who saw Adam’s tweet about her flying in just for the launch, “Everybody needs a Becky.” So damn true.

My Heart And Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

“I bet if you cut open my stomach, the black slug of depression would slide out.”

Damnnn, did that ever hit me in the stomach. All of the quotes that I marked down in this darkly humorous novel were powerful and true to so many people.

Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

The poems in that book will skin you alive. They slay.

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

In lieu of quoting the whole book, can we just slow-clap for the epicness that is Adam Silvera? Can we just do that? *slow-claps in awe*

Phase 4: First Date: a first book of a series that made you want to pursue the rest of the series

The Young Elites by Marie Lu
image

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch (besides the fact that she’s badass)

image

Phase 5:  Late night phone calls: a book that kept you up all night

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

image

Till 1 am…unashamed.

Phase 6: Always On My Mind: A book that you could not stop thinking about.

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

image

No explanation requisite. My blog is named after it.

Phase 7: Getting Physical: a book that you love the way it feels

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Oooohhh.
If you own a copy (which you should, by now—it’s been over a week), just run your hand over that beautiful cover for a moment. Yeah, you know what I’m talking about. 

Phase 8: Meeting The Parents: a book  which you would recommend to your family and friends

My parents do not read anything that isn’t a) the Bible b) Ellen G. White or c) something related to the homeland (Jamaica).

I would recommend Liars Inc., to all my friends. I also incessantly reccomend Simon Vs and SLA (Snow Like Ashes).

Phase 9: Thinking about the Future: a book or series you’ll reread many times in the future.

I have no time for re-reads. If I did—I would reread Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins and The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey. Definitely Simon VS without a doubt. Every Last Word. And More Happy Than Not, because I enjoy pain and pumping my hand in the air in glee at Adams excellency at writing. I could rave about his writing, forever.

Phase 10:Who shall I tag?

Summer @ xingsings
Ri @ Hiver Et Cafe (you’re not a tag, type,though.)
Mishie @ Bookish and Things (a new Book tuber!)
You, if you haven’t already done it; and want to!

3 thoughts on “The Courtship Book Tag

Leave a Reply

