The “More Happy Than Not” Tag

*Credit to Miel from Bookish and Awesome . This tag is meant to promote Adam Silvera’s debut: More Happy Than Not*

I am more happy than not when I write poetry. The spark of an idea that just has me itching to write. The energy I have as the utensil flies across the paper. The feeling of power in my bones as the words spill out. I am more happy than not.

I am more happy than not when I read books. The different scents of each book that seems to be an attribute to the story. The fresh smell of a preorder, mixed with something unidentifiable. That is, somehow, different with each book I read: old or new.

image

I am more happy than not when I walk around the beautiful city that I live in.
The graffiti on Brooklyn buildings:

image

How when the sun sets in Manhattan; if you were to catch yourself in Times Square. Oh, how the lights brighten slowly, bringing a rush of camera flashes from tourists. How I can feel something in me wake up with the night. How something feels alive again, when I stand in the presence of a great masterpiece.

Yes, this may be considered “cheesy”. But I never feel like I’ve seen it all before. I am more happy than not.

image

I am more happy than not when I talk excitedly with book friends about the best parts/people of a book, and make references with them. I am more happy than not.

I am more happy than not when I meet an author I’ve been wanting to for a little while, or talked with them for weeks, months before hand. I am more happy than not.

I am more happy than not when I’m told I made a day.

I am more happy than not when I feel a rush as my feet almost fly from street to street, train to train, bus to bus.

I am more happy than not discussing the prominent issues of police brutality against all, feminism, gender equality, the binaries, and all types of LGBT+ issues. We cannot be afraid to approach controversial issues. We must make change. “We must work not wait.”- Malala Yousafi. I am more happy than not.

I am more happy than not living, and racing among you.

image

What makes YOU more happy than not? Leave a comment below.

Feel free to bounce excitedly with me over something on my Twitter: @epicbooklover

Want me to do a blog tour? Review copy you need me to review? Tag? Somethin’ else?

Contact me at my business email: oreosandbooks70@gmail.com

14 thoughts on “The “More Happy Than Not” Tag

  1. Thank you for doing the tag, Wesaun! And not cheesy at all! I think NYC is one of the cities I’ll deeply fall in love with (if I haven’t already) once I stepped a foot in it. And wait, is that a Dumplin’ pose?

    PS. I’ve included a link collector (? Omg I don’t know the proper term) in my original post, so you can add your link to that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve actually never been to NY though I live in the eastern part of the United States too. You’re so lucky to have bookworm friends that love discussing books with you, a lot of my friends in real life don’t appreciate books. And the photos were great, they made me more happy than not. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your ending was witty. πŸ™‚ I feel you, and honestly, if my friends don’t like books, it’s not as close a friendship. The closest friend I have IRL loves books, and that helps talk about deeper stuff too. I’ll be your book friend if you want! You HAVE to come to NYC for a book event. Book Con? If you ever do, I’ll have tips!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my gosh, I’d totally love to go to Book Con! And that’d be great (being book buddies I mean)! We definitely should meet up if that ever does happen. I’ve actually never been to a book conference or festival, but I am going to Yallfest this year, which is held in Charleston. I’m pretty excited for that. And thanks! By the way, out of curiosity, did oreoandbooks stem from your love for Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens agenda or was that before you met Simon Spier? πŸ˜›

        Like

      • I’ve never gone to one, either. And I Really want to. Book Con bc there’s an Epic Reads booth, and it’s an awesome Harper Collins YA team. They’d probably have book swag which I collect. It stemmed from my love of Simon and Becky and just all the Simonite fun I’ve had with some cool folk on Twitter.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahh, that makes a ton of sense now! But oh my gosh, I want book swag! I actually don’t own ANY. Like I have books but not cool bookish stuff. Well I do have a HP and TMI poster, but those I actually bought, haha. Everything about Book Con sounds great! πŸ˜€

        Like

Leave a Reply

